Written by Maggie Stiefvater

Published by Scholastic Press, October 14, 2014

My star rating: 5 stars

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel (Goodreads)

This is the third book in the Raven Cycle series – it was also the best book in the series BY FAR! Obviously, since this is the third book in a series, there may be some spoilers if you haven’t read the first two books! You’ve been warned.

I will admit that I had a hard time with the first two books (which I rated 3.5 stars) There was so much world building and setting the scene for this crazy plot that I didn’t feel satisfied. I had more questions than I had answers and felt like I was getting more lost than resolving anything. This book was a game changer in that respect. Yes, I still have a ton of unanswered questions, but the pieces of the puzzle finally seem like they’re coming together. I am in awe with the depth of this plot and I plan to immediately start the concluding novel (The Raven King) to finally get to the bottom of this mystery!

I think that what made this book such a success was that the character development was out of the way. In the first two books, we still didn’t really know who these people were and what part they played in the plot. So with the character development out of the way I felt like I could immerse myself completely in the story and the world. I now feel so connected with each person and understand everything they’re doing. Throughout the events of the first two books, each character now understands what role they play and, instead of each character being an individual within the plot, we now get to see them as a team. They are no longer trying to separate themselves, they all have specific roles and tasks, and have come together to make their way through this.

This plot is insane. There are so many different magical aspects, key players, histories, places – the list goes on! I don’t want to sound like a broken record but the first two books confused me. Everything was being set up and all these pieces felt separate. I spent so much time confused and flat out not knowing what the hell was happening. Now all of the pieces are starting to come together and it’s blowing my mind.

The atmosphere also seemed to change with this one. It feels dark, creepy, and scary – I LOVE IT! With everything that’s happening the author successfully explained that these kids are still kids. They still have families and they still have to go to school. I was thinking how impossible it would be to focus on school work when they’re dealing with so much and that the characters mirrored my thoughts.

I wish I could say more – so much more. But if I say the things I want to say I will spoil it for you. Like I said above, I’m starting the concluding novel immediately! I have a feeling that when I understand the story as a whole, my opinion of the first two books will change. I need to know what happens!!!!

If you’ve read this series what did you think of it?

Until next time, happy reading!