It’s a good thing that last week was so laid back because this week has been a whirlwind! I managed to finish 4 – that’s right – 4 books this week! I don’t even remember the last time I read that much in a week! The funny thing is that I was swamped at work so I didn’t have much time. But the weather was awful and there was nothing else to do so I used every spare moment to my advantage.

BOOKS I FINISHED THIS WEEK:

HUNTED by Meagan Spooner <—– (full review)

This was a book that I had been anticipating for a really long time and I was so happy that it lived up to my expectations. I absolutely loved the folklore aspect and that my least favourite parts of the Beauty and the Beast Disney version were taken out!

BLUE LILY LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater <—– (full review)

Book 3 of the Raven cycle series and by far the best! I wasn’t a fan of Dream Thieves at all. I was bored, confused and not invested in the story. I thought that certain aspects of it were interesting but I wasn’t sure yet how most of it came into play. This one started to clear up the questions I had and made a dark and creepy turn. I’m starting book four, The Raven King, very soon!

GOOD MORNING MIDNIGHT by Lily Brooks-Dalton <—– (full review)

I’ve been in the mood for science fiction lately so I was really excited for this one. I started off not like it, then loved it, then got bored, then loved it – it was a slow burning roller coaster of a read! It was a little low on the sci-fi/dystopian scale and focused more on the living in isolation story line, but it made me think well after turning that last page!

THIRTEEN REASONS WHY by Jay Asher

I finished this one yesterday and will be putting my review up tomorrow. I had this book on my wish list for probably three years and when I found it for 25 cents in perfect condition at a thrift store I finally decided to buy it. With the TV show coming out I decided to read it sooner than later. This is an absolutely haunting book that I think will work out REALLY well as a show.

CURRENTLY READING:

An ember in the ashes

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I’m going into this one blindly! I know nothing about it except for the fact that this series is getting rave reviews. I know that when it first came out everyone was talking about it. And I just HAD to have this book. But over a year later it still sits unread on my shelf. So after a quick twitter poll  (follow me!) it was decided that it’s time to change that! I’m very much looking forward to this book and it’s sequel!

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS:

My first ever giveaway on the blog ended on Tuesday! I put all the entries into a bowl and let my 6 year old son pick the winner and I was so excited to see that it was someone I had talked to about reading Hunted and I knew it was going to a good home! Janeal from the amazing blog The Book Filled Day should be getting the package soon! I plan to do another giveaway, maybe in the summer!

This week I focused on my top 5 YA contemporary reads. Contemporary isn’t usually high on my list as a frequently read genre, but this year I’ve been looking into them more and more. I think it has to do with the fact that I’ve gotten so deep into fantasy and science fiction that I need to break it up a little with something a little easier to read. I love the fluffiness of some of the stories and some of the emotional ones as well. If you have any great contemporary reads you would like to recommend I would love to hear of some!

I also asked for some science fiction recommendations after I watched and became obsessed with the movie Passengers. I got some AMAZING suggestions! So thanks everyone! Problem is, I now have a ton of books I want to read and no available funds to buy any LOL! My birthday is next month so guess what I’m asking for??

This was such a great reading week and I’m kind of still running on the adrenaline of it all, hoping that I can keep the momentum going! My ACOTAR (A court of thorns and roses if you weren’t aware) reread is coming soon and i’m sure momentum won’t be a problem 🙂

Until next time, happy reading!

 

