Sisters Of The Snake

SISTERS OF THE SNAKE Written by Sasha and Sarena Nanua Published by Harper Teen, June 15, 2021 My star rating – 4 stars THE SYNOPSIS: A lost princess. A dark puppet master. And a race against time—before all is lost. Princess Rani longs for a chance to escape her gilded cage and prove herself. Ria…

For The Wolf

FOR THE WOLF Written by Hannah Whitten Published by Orbit Books, June 1, 2021 My star rating – 3 stars THE SYNOPSIS: The first daughter is for the Throne.The second daughter is for the Wolf. For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who…

Witches Steeped in Gold

WITCHES STEEPED IN GOLD Written by Ciannon Smart Published by Harper Teen, April 20, 2021 My star rating – 3 stars THE SYNOPSIS: Iraya has spent her life in a cell, but every day brings her closer to freedom – and vengeance.  Jazmyne is the Queen’s daughter, but unlike her sister before her, she has…

Down World

DOWN WORLD Written by Rebecca Phelps Published by Wattpad Books, March 30, 2021 My star rating – 4 stars THE SYNOPSIS: As the site of a former military base, there have always been rumors that East Township High School was the site of experiments with space and time. For years, students have whispered in the…

Firekeeper’s Daughter

FIREKEEPERS DAUGHTER Written by Angeline Boulley Published by Henry, Holt and Co, March 16th, 2021 My star rating – 4 stars THE SYNOPSIS: As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams…

Fable

FABLE (Fable #1) Written by Adrienne Young Published by Wednesday Books, September 1, 2020 My star rating – 5 stars THE SYNOPSIS: For seventeen-year-old Fable, the daughter of the most powerful trader in the Narrows, the sea is the only home she has ever known. It’s been four years since the night she watched her…

The Bone Shard Daughter

THE BONE SHARD DAUGHTER Written by Andrea Stewart Published by Orbit, September 8, 2020 My star rating – 5 stars THE SYNOPSIS: The emperor’s reign has lasted for decades, his mastery of bone shard magic powering the animal-like constructs that maintain law and order. But now his rule is failing, and revolution is sweeping across…

Flamer

FLAMER Written and illustrated by Mike Curato Published by Henry Holt and Co, September 1, 2020 My star rating – 4 stars THE SYNOPSIS: I know I’m not gay. Gay boys like other boys. I hate boys. They’re mean, and scary, and they’re always destroying something or saying something dumb or both. I hate that…

The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones

THE INVINCIBLE SUMMER OF JUNIPER JONES Written by Daven McQueen Published by Wattpad Books, June 16, 2020 My star rating – 5 STARS! ALL THE STARS! THE SYNOPSIS: It’s the summer of 1955. For Ethan Harper, a biracial kid raised mostly by his white father, race has always been a distant conversation. When he’s sent…