Harry Potter Book Tag

I was tagged recently by Justine over at the stellar blog I Should Read That and I was immediately excited to do this! First of all, Harry Potter, and second, I laughed the whole way through reading her answers. Starting with her first answer it was almost as if she was reading my mind! Bookish telepathy….. yup, that’s totally a thing now….. because I said so.

1 – FLAGRATE (writing charm) – A book you found interesting but would like to rewrite

Heartless

Yes, this answer is the same as Justine’s, but it was the best answer for me as well! I loved the Lunar Chronicles. That series will probably remain one of my all time favourite series. And maybe my love for that series caused me to pump this one up too much? Either way this book fell flat and didn’t meet my expectations. I thought the idea of a prequel to the Red Queen’s ‘evilness’ was such an interesting concept. I knew that she wasn’t going to be this evil person, but to be honest, she wasn’t anything. Well she was two things – boring and repetitive. If I could rewrite it I would take out her constantly repeating that she wanted a bakery on every page and add in more of the other characters. I basically found every other character interesting, just not her! I wish that there was even a hint of her evilness before hand but nope, just a ton of baked good and a strong desire to not marry the king. Ugh

2 – ALOHOMORA (unlocking charm) – the first book in a series that got you hooked

Illuminae.png

This is such a hard question! So many to choose from! For right now I’m going to have to choose Illumine by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This one started an absolute fascination with science fiction. I had read a few sci-fi books before this one, but this one made me want more space, ships, AI’s, fighting, etc. The whole thing was so interesting and well done. I loved the format most of all. The messages, video surveillance, pictures, diagrams, and other unique ways of telling this story. The plot twist caught me off guard and I loved that there was a mystery as to why the planet was attacked in the first place. Luckily I got more answers in book two, but having that information withheld in book one made me want book 2 even more! Here are some more recent runner-up answers for this question: Strange the Dreamer, Six of Crows, Sins of Empire.

3 – ACCIO (summoning charm) – a book you wish you could have right now!

ACOWAR.jpg

PLEASE?! I promise to be a good girl! (lie)

I promise to eat all my fruits and vegetables (not a lie)

I promise to calm down my book buying this year (total lie)

Ok then…… I’ll wait until May 2nd…….. I’m going to go pout now……. ACCIO ACOWAR! No? Damn it! I’m not a witch then…… double pout

4 – AVADA KEDAVRA – A killer book

The girl in 6E.jpg

I wasn’t quite sure how to take this one so I took it literally – as in a book with a killer. The main character has closed herself off from the world by locking herself in an apartment so she doesn’t kill anyone. Of course she has already killed before and will kill again. This is an erotic thriller that actually surprised me with how much I ended up liking it!

5 – CONFUNDO (confusing charm) – a book you found confusing

House of leaves

Once again my answer is the same as Justine’s! This is one that I’ve been trying to read for over a year but I still haven’t made my way through it. At times you think you know what’s going on but then the action and explanations stops and then the story moves on to something and someone else. I think I am about halfway through and still have no clue what’s going on. There are footnotes narrated by someone else after the actual events that this book is about. This narrator found the information about the house in question and he’s trying to make sense of it all. I don’t know that I’ll understand what’s going on even if I do end up finishing this one!!

6 – EXPECTO PATRONUM – your spirit animal book

The perks of being a wallflower.jpg

The definition of spirit animal – saying that something or someone is your spirit animal is a statement that the person or thing is a representation of you or what you want to be. For this one I could choose so many books of people I would want to be. Aelin from Throne of Glass, Katniss from Hunger Games – the list could go on. But I decided to pick a book that represented me in the past. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. More specifically, Sam. When I was in high school me and my group of friends were the outcasts. We were often called the freaks because we all dressed weird and loved off colour things – like The Rocky Horror Picture Show. We used to watch it all the time and act it out, each of us having a specific part we played. We always searched for the younger kids who didn’t seem to fit into any group and who were just looking to fit in. We made it a point to tell them that they didn’t need to change to fit in and that we accepted them for who they were, quirks and all. I was one of the over achieving kids in the bunch and was almost like Sam. But my relationships were nothing like hers!

7 – SECTUM SEMPRA (dark charm) – a dark and twisted book

you

You by Caroline Kepnes. This book is told from the perspective of a stalker/killer. You were inside his head and his thoughts as he was obsessing about a girl, wanting to love her, wanting to hate her, and justifying all of his feelings. It was downright creepy! I’m not sure if this is what it’s normally like being inside the head of a stalker – and I don’t want to find out!!!

8 – APARECIUM (revealing charm) – a book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is

ill-give-you-the-sun

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. This one was purely a cover buy. I found it well before I found Book Tube or Goodreads and didn’t know what to expect going into it. The cover caught my eye and the synopsis sounded mildly interesting. I kind of expected it to be a coming of age story and it was. But it ended up being so much more than that. It had so many different elements of love, connection, loss, acceptance and understanding. It would be a fantastic read for anyone with siblings or parents who are experiencing problems. I don’t have siblings or parents that have experienced problems, but this one still hit me in the emotions so hard.

I’m not going to tag anyone – if you see this and think it sounds like fun then go ahead! But please let me know if you do this tag as I would be interested to see your answers!

Until next time, happy reading!!

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Justine says:

    I’m so pleased you did this! Also thrilled that we have some of the same answers. I’m really glad to hear that another person didn’t like Heartless. It seems to be a recent favorite so I feel weirdly guilty about not enjoying it. Baked good are great, but we need a bit more substance!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was really hard to think of different answers for a few of them! Heartless was so disappointing

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Justine says:

        It has so many things I like: Villains! Cake! Ladies with agency! Doomed love! It did put me off trying out The Lunar Chronicles, but so many people really love those books that I’ll still give them a shot.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I did love the Lunar Chronicles. I didn’t want to touch them at first because of the red high heel shoe. I assumed it would be girly, but it was very far away from that. Cinder was fantastic, Scarlet was just ok, and Cress and Winter were amazing!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Justine says:

            They’re officially going on my list!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. This tag looks so fun!! Love your answers :p

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books says:

    So much agree with your answers! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this tag! And your choices were fantastic! I have t read Illuminae yet! 🤦‍♀️ I’m embarrassed for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol it took me a little while to get into that one but then I was hooked! The books are huge but read so quickly

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They are big, but I love the mixed media they use throughout it. I’ve thumbed through it plenty of times. Just haven’t read it yet! I REALLY need to.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Bummer to hear that about Heartless. I’ll lower my expectations before I read that one and maybe it will help, lol. I haven’t read Illuminae yet either, but I think I need to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heartless wasn’t awful. I just found it really repetitive. Some people really loved it – I hope you’re in that group!

      Like

      1. Ah, that’s good to know. I hope I love it too, once I can get my hands on it, lol

        Liked by 1 person

  6. NocturnalJen says:

    Massive fan of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, just wrote a review of it on my blog actually! Full of amazing characters, Sam being one of them. Which character did you play in Rocky Horror? xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was usually Columbia and would switch to Magenta every once in a while. Funny thing about that book – when I read it I wasn’t as impressed as I thought I would be. Then the more I’ve thought about it the more I love it. I saw your review and it was really well done!

      Like

  7. I haven’t read Heartless yet but feel like I’ll probably have similar feelings… TLC was just too good! It’ll be hard to top it.
    Loved your answers 🙂 And this tag is just so cool. I never get tired of reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think these are great choices!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Irena S. says:

    I love your explanation for picking The Perks of Being a Wallflower for your spirit animal book. I can really relate to that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment