March 2020 Wrap Up

When this whole pandemic bullshit started I was so excited for what it meant for my reading! I thought this was finally my time to hunker down and read as much as humanly possible! Less work – more reading….. I wasn’t going to waste a single moment of it! And then the reality of the situation hit and I was overwhelmed by all the emotions. Anxiety brain took over and I couldn’t focus on reading. March ended up being the worst month for reading….. What can you do? None of us has even been through a pandemic before and as the whole world navigates this, we are just along for the rollercoaster ride. Thankfully I’m handling this much better, my brain is less foggy, and I’m prepared to focus on the positives as I take things day by day 🙂 Here’s what I did manage to read in March:

I thought it was only fair that since these two are the first two books in a series that I put them together. TRUTH OR BEARD by Penny Reid is the first book to the Winston Brothers series and I’m enjoying the ever loving hell out of it! This is just the escape that I needed. This book follows Duane and Jess. Duane is one of the Winston twins and Jess is a long time friend that is only back in town temporarily to work and save money so she can travel. I like this book a lot but not nearly as much as I liked book two! GRIN AND BEARD IT follows the eldest Winston brother Jethro as he meets Hollywood star Sienna. These two were beyond adorable and head over heels for each other! The first book was more steam and sass while book 2 was more romance and humour. Each Winston brother offers a new personality so it feels like a new book every time 🙂 Both of these were 5 stars!

The house in the cerulean sea

THE HOUSE IN THE CERULEAN SEA by TJ Klune – 4 stars <—– click for full review
This one was a bit of a confusing read. Not the book itself but how I felt about it! While I was reading I was a little annoyed at the slow pace. Then, when I got to the ending (which was a totally perfect ending by the way!) I was so thankful for the slow pace and all the time that was spent on the characters! The characters were really the focal point of the story and they were all amazing. It sent home the idea of family and home and it was a really touching story.

The city we became

THE CITY WE BECAME by N.K. Jemisin – 4 stars <—– click for full review
This was my first time reading this author and it was an interesting experience to say the least! I spent about 80% of the book pissed off and annoyed at the characters and their situation. Towards the end though she explained it all in a way that turned the lightbulb in my head on the brightest setting and I was like OH!! This was more of an urban fantasy than I was expecting. I’ve heard so much about her worlds and I was hoping to get a little more of that. Now that her writing is just a little less intimidating, I plan on reading more!

img_7042

Yup. That’s it. Only 4 books this month. I’m really upset about that number but I knew that forcing myself to read when my head wasn’t in the game wasn’t going to help anything at all. Things have been a little easier now that the shock of the situation the world is in is over. Now I’m taking things one day at a time (sometimes one hour at a time if i’m being honest) and doing my best. That’s all we can do! I hope you’re all staying home, safe and healthy! I’m not the praying type but I pray that this is all over soon and we no longer have to fear for the health of our families. Much love and read those damn books……. *hiding in shame as I take my own advice*

Until next time, happy reading!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. jillianthebookbutterfly says:

    I didn’t read much in March either. I read 4 books plus 3 children’s picture books, but there was like a 2 week gap in between. I had a hard time focusing on the book I was currently reading. Like you, I was excited at the prospect of reading more, but sitting inside the house all day made me unexpectedly anxious. I guess I was so use to being busy I had no idea what to do with myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly how I explain it! I was so used to running around all day and then diving into a book. I didn’t realize how much the change in routine would be a problem. Hope things are calming down for you!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jillianthebookbutterfly says:

        Things are getting easier now. I’m finding better ways to incorporate reading into my schedule. Hope it works out for you as well.

        Like

  2. cafereading says:

    I think 4 books is bloody impressive, I’m still wading my way through the first book I started in March, but it is all about perspective 🙂 stay safe and don’t beat yourself up so much in these troubled times

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ❤️ stay safe and healthy as well!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. suzan khoja says:

    You read some good books. I couldn’t read any due to the dangerous situation in my country. These books look interesting and amazing. I will definitely try them. 😊✌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Which country are you in? I hope you and your family are safe and healthy!

      Like

      1. suzan khoja says:

        Oh, I am in India. Thank you Shanah. We are safe and healthy. I really hope you are okay. Please take care. ❤✌✌

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment