The Birthday Book Tag!

That’s right – today is my birthday!! And damn i’m old! LOL! Today i’m 37 years old….. but I don’t feel like it! I still feel like I’m in my 20’s and still get ID’d when I buy booze….. so I’m taking that as a good thing 🙂 I post this tag every single year on my birthday and look forward to it every year. Click HERE to see the first and click HERE to see the second if you want to see books i’ve mentioned in the past. I took out one question that I never really knew how to answer lol. Feel free to enjoy this post while I eat cake for breakfast 🙂

1 – BIRTHDAY CAKE – A book with a plot that seems cliche but you adore it anyway:

One True Loves

We’ve seen it so many times in books and movies. A girl is madly in love and the guy goes missing and is presumed dead. She restarts her life, finds love again, and just like that, the missing first love comes back. Regardless of the similar plot line, this was a really well written book and I really liked it!

2 – PARTY GUESTS – Your most anticipated book release this year:

Darkdawn

I CAN’T FREAKING WAIT!!!!! I’ve needed this book for so long! Only a few months left. I think that I need to take these last few months preparing for the heartbreak that this book will bring….. who am I kidding? There’s no preparing for this conclusion!

3 – BIRTHDAY PRESENTS – A book that surprised you with how much you loved it:

City of Brass

When this book came out it was getting so many mixed reviews. 50% LOVED and and 50% HATED it. There didn’t seem to be a middle ground. I just assumed I wouldn’t like it. The plot sounded familiar and I wasn’t in the mood for a story like this. But when a glowing review pops up from someone that has the same reading tastes as you, you suck it up and read it. And I am SO glad I did! This book was an obsession for the longest time! The characters, the setting, the story…… I loved it!

4 – THE HAPPY BIRTHDAY SONG – A book that certainly deserved all the hype it got:

Crazy rich asians

This is yet another book that I almost refused to read because of the hype. I thought there was NO WAY it would be as good as people were making it out to be. I’ll admit – I was wrong! This book was incredible! The characters were great and their lives were so over the top. I was entertaining as hell!

5 – HAPPY MUSIC – A book with some very beautiful and truly memorable quotes:

The lies of Locke Lamora

Beautiful quotes? Definitely not! But memorable quotes? YES! I could have filled a notebook with all the quotes that made me burst out laughing. My favourite? “Nice bird, asshole.”

6 – SWEET BIRTHDAY MEMORIES – A book that kept you incredibly happy during a sad or demanding period of your life:

Kiss the girl

I read this book at the perfect time. I was so stressed out and full of anxiety. I was also completely down on myself. But this book was my saving grace! It inspired me to have more confidence, it made me laugh so hard, and took my mind off of all the crazy shit happening in my life. I want to read literally everything this woman has written!!!

Flower divider

Wow! I just now realized how much fun book tags are! It’s been MONTHS since i’ve done a tag……. I need to do more of these!

Until next time, happy reading!

38 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the birthday theme reviews. Happy BD to you as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday!! I hope it is amazing. 🎉🎂

    I have been debating whether or not to read The City of Brass. Something tells me I will love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Read it!!!! The City of Brass is one of my all time favourite fantasy books! The writing is just outstanding! I’ve read it twice now and loved it just as much the second time around 🙂

      Like

  3. Belle says:

    Happy birthday!!! 🎂🎊🎉
    This is my first time hearing about Tara Sivec! I love that her book made you feel you better and inspired you to be more confident—definitely have to check her out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I recently picked up two other books by Tara Sivec…. that’s how much I love her writing!! I hope you love her books as much as I do!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Colline says:

    Happy birthday to you and have a wonderful day.
    As for your age – you are still young. You definitely start to feel older after 50!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! My body is already starting to feel old. By 50 I might need a walker and some bubble wrap 😂

      Like

  5. Abbie - Kingdom of Pages says:

    Happy birthday! 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Justine says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy birthday, Shannah!!!

    Like

  9. ace-reader says:

    Happy Birthday!

    Like

  10. Happy birthday – enjoy! 🙂

    Like

  11. Happy birthday!! I hope you have an amazing day!!

    Like

  12. Happy (belated) birthday!! I hope you had a great day ❤️

    Like

  13. kyera says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Happy belated birthday!! Let me know if you’re in need of more tags, I have about 60 on my back-list I need to catch up on!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And only 60?? Wow that’s a lot!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe a slight exaggeration 😅

        Like

  15. A little belated but Happy Birthday fellow May baby! Hope the year ahead brings you lots of good reads and happy times! This was a fun birthday book tag to read ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 🙂❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Saadia Peerzada says:

    Happy belated birthday! I’ve seen City of Brass pop up everywhere recently 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I’m glad The City of Brass is still getting some hype!!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Rustic Pages says:

    Happy Birthday!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment