First Impression Friday #13

Happy Friday!! And for me, it’s the Friday of Canadian Thanksgiving! This weekend will be straight up insane! I bake, and have almost 100 cupcakes and 3 pies to make for customers, on top of my husbands family dinner on Sunday, and I’m hosting my family on Monday…… so…… busy! But I can’t wait! So if I’m not around for the next 3 days then that’s why. But, for now, let’s talk about my first impressions of the books I’ve finished over the last 2 weeks:

Muse of nightmares

MY FIRST IMPRESSIONS – My first thought was THANK GOODNESS I’M BACK IN THIS WORLD! Within the first paragraph I felt the warm and fuzz feelings that Laini Taylor’s writing invokes. I was also excited that this book began literally right where Strange the Dreamer left off. I guessed that I would rate this book 5 stars…..

HOW I RATED IT – Very close! I ended up rating it 4.5 stars (though, since I’ve finished it I might bring it up to 5 because it’s really impacted my emotions and I haven’t stopped thinking about it!) This book was so brilliantly written and hit so many of my emotions and HARD! My feelings were on a roller coaster and I just felt unstable lol. But it was just SO beautiful!! For my full thoughts on this glorious masterpiece, click HERE

All Your Perfects

MY FIRST IMPRESSIONS – Well! I have to say that I was really impressed and invested after the first chapter! I know from experience that Colleen Hoover’s first chapters set up the story in a very specific way. But this one, for some reason, really made me want to know more. It opens with a woman going to surprise her fiancee and finds a man pacing in front of his door. He tells her that his girlfriend is inside his apartment and they both deal with the realization and fall out of their cheating partners. I guessed that I would rate this 4.5 stars…..

HOW I RATED IT – Sadly, I ended up rating it 3 stars. There were certain elements of this book that I just didn’t relate to. The story as a whole was great, and the character arc was redeeming as we see them when their relationship began to where they are now, but like I said, I felt a little anger and annoyance with the main character. For my full thoughts, find my review HERE

Catwoman

MY FIRST IMPRESSIONS – I really liked the first chapter of this book! It gave us such a complete look of Catwojan’s origins. We see her struggles, her relationships, and her bad-assery as she’s fighting for money. It was a great start, and it’s written by SJM so…… I guessed that I would rate this 5 stars…..

HOW I RATED IT – I couldn’t have been more off with this one! I might have guessed that I was going to rate it 5 stars, but I ended up DNF’ing it! I might come back to this at some point, but it wasn’t the type of book that I would normally be interested in, so I decided to move on to things I really wanted to read. For my full thoughts, click HERE

Flower divider

I had another one that I finished this week, House of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski, but I started it 2 years ago so I don’t remember my first impressions! Hope you all have a fantastic weekend!

Until next time, happy reading!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Alexandra says:

    One good one, one okay, and one DNF, sounds like my reads of late. But thankfully, I bought The City of Brass, and fell in love!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad to hear that!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bree says:

    I love these posts! It’s so interesting to see first impressions vs. how it turns out.

    That’s a shame about Catwoman! I love SJM, but the storyline didn’t seem very appealing to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely adore SJM. But her writing style was nowhere near the same 🙁

      Like

  3. Priyasha says:

    Cat woman on my tbr ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the purple aesthetic of this post haha. Have a great Thanksgiving weekend, and good luck with all your baking!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The purple aesthetic was a total accident but didn’t go unnoticed. It made me so happy to see purple, let alone 3 in a row! It’s a rare colour for books sadly

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy Catwoman! I am really looking forward to it, especially after really loving the first two books in the series (by different authors). Hopefully you will be able to pick it back up and really like it later on down the line.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you loved the first two then I’m pretty sure that Catwoman will be a knock out! I’ve heard people say that this is the best of the three so far. Enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. evelynreads1 says:

    aah sad that you did not like Catwoman, I can see why you did not though.. Personally I was not a big fan as well. I think I rated it 2 stars, but when I think about it I’m not exactly sure why haha

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment