Off The Grid Readathon Dates for 2021!

First of all – Yes! I’m still alive lol. It’s been a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG time since i’ve posted anything. Like a lot of you, the dumpster fire that is 2020 has taken its toll on me. My mental health has basically gotten in the way of anything I love. Good news is – I’m getting better. Slowly, but at least it’s progress. I’ve spent a lot of time over the last few weeks trying to come up with a game plan of doing better for this blog in 2021 and I think I’ve got it all figured out. Let’s cross our fingers! Enough complaining, let’s talk about the readathon!!

This is my favourite readathon to participate in (and not just because I’m the host lol) because it’s so chill! Since we were all stuck inside for the majority of this year, the only thing to do was go on computers and phones, and zoom calls were our only form of face to face communication, our screen time is OUT OF CONTROL!!! What better time to do some detox – it’s time we set aside our distraction and read some damn books!!!

I posted a video on my channel with all the dates and details and you can find that here:

If you don’t have the chance to watch, here are the details:

  • Dates are January 15 – 17, April 9 – 11, July 9 – 11, and October 8 – 10
  • Readathon begins at 12:00am on Friday and ends at 11:59pm on Sunday
  • Dates and times are all within your own timezone
  • No frills, fuss, or challenges – just set aside some time to read and don’t touch your phone!

Of course, it would be amazing to read as much as possible within the 3 days allotted, however, responsibilities come first (work, kids, life in general lol). So the point of the readathon isn’t to read non stop for three days (even though that would be amazing!). The point is that if you have time to read, even if it’s just 15 minutes, you need to read for the entirety of those 15 minutes without touching your phone! This is practice to read more with the time you have and not get distracted by all the things around you!

Let me and fellow co-host Justine know if you’re participating! Follow us on Twitter @OffTheGridReads as that’s the best way to keep up to date with the readathon.

Who’s in for 2021???

Until next time, happy reading!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Lorilin says:

    Glad you’re feeling a little better. 2020 has been rough for sure. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. xLeah2k13 says:

    Slow progress is good progress! I’m glad you’re feeling better and taking care of yourself.

    I’m looking forward to this! I definitely need to reduce my screen time (eep!) and this looks like it will be a step in the right direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to hear this is happening again, it did wonders for my reading last year. Count me in! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad it helped you out! 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. CJR The Brit says:

    Me! Im defo up for January! Im glad you are feeling a bit better, missed seeing you around on here. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Emmie says:

    Ooo I’m excited! I definitely need to be reading more in the new year!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Glad to hear that you’re getting better Shanah! I know how hard it can be to focus when mental health issues get in the way of things we love. Hope you continue to improve!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment