Off The Grid Readathon Announcement!!!

The July edition of the Off The Grid Readathon is fast approaching! It begins on July 17th and ends at midnight on the 19th. For all of the details, you can check out the announcement post RIGHT HERE.

As you all know, up to this point I’ve kept this readathon as chill as possible. No challenges, no buddy reads, no trophies…. just a weekend of reading as much as you can without being distracted by your phone. This month though – things are a little different because I have a challenge for you:

What’s the challenge, you ask? Simple – read a book written by a black author!

Sometimes it’s hard to feel like you, one tiny little person in the world, can do any good for the black lives matter movement. It’s very easy to feel overwhelmed by all the links for donations, petitions, etc, and you wonder how you can do your part.

Keeping this all related to the bookish community (this is a readathon after all) you start small and do what you can! You can read a book written by a black author. How is reading a book by a black author helping anything at all? It helps in quite a few ways actually. Number one – black voices matter. Black authors pour their experiences, their struggles, their hopes, their dreams, their fears, and their power, into the words they write. You’re also helping by reading a book and talking about it! That gives black writers more exposure and lets them AND publishers know that black voices are needed and wanted. And by talking about their books we are continuing the conversation…… not letting the movement pass by and continuing to talk about the changes that need to happen. We also allow ourselves to continue our own education and enlightenment.

Will you be participating in the readathon? Have any idea what you’ll be reading? Check back soon to see what books make it onto my TBR!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

 

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Heather says:

    Wooooo! I’ll be able to join this one, too, since I’m done with school for the summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jillianthebookbutterfly says:

    I love this idea! I have ideas for a few books I could read.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I might pick up With the Fire on High and Black Girl Unlimited for this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg With The Fire On High is one of my all time favourite YA contemporaries!! It’s sooooo well written, real, and relatable. I kind of want to reread it for the Readathon lol. Enjoy!

      Like

  4. I totally support this and I think I’ve got a few books in my TBR pile(s) that can be used for the readathon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe it’s almost that time again! Where has the year gone?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right?! It’s insanity!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. cathepsut says:

    If you are looking for inspiration for an audiobook, I highly recommend The City We Became by Jemisin. I am currently listening to it and the audio is excellent. The book is good so far, but I am not that far into it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read that one before it was released so the audiobook wasn’t an option at the time lol. I LOVE a good audiobook so I might choose it that way for a reread 🙂 hope you end up loving it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Count me in! I love this readathon! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is true in a way. I don’t choose books because of someone’s skin either. I choose it because it sounds like something I want to read

    But in this case – I’m doing this in support of the black community. If you don’t want to participate and support them, even if it’s just for one weekend Readathon, then fine. Kindly fuck off. You’re not wanted here

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry. I think you misunderstood me.

      Like

    2. As for your Readathon – I do appreciate the sentiment and the support for authors of color. I simply don’t have any books by people of color available to read right now, and my reading list is so full (and my budget is so small), I can’t see how I’d be able to get one to participate. Finally, I am a VERY slow reader because of my dyslexia, so I can’t commit to reading a whole book over one weekend. It takes me at least a week to read an average length book.

      Like

  9. No one said you had to participate. And I never once stated that in order to participate, you HAD to read a book by a black author. This is meant to show support to the community. This is in no way putting one race above another. This is in no way saying that one race is more talented than another. It’s just to show support. It doesn’t sound to me like you care at all about authors of colour getting recognition. Your choice of words was offensive.

    Like

    1. I’m sorry… I never meant to offend. See my message to you on Twitter. You can delete my comments here if you like. No problem.

      Like

Leave a comment