Weekly Wrap Up – July 22 – 28

This has been the best bookish week of the entire year!!!! It was the Reading Rush Readathon (formerly known as the BookTube-a-thon) and it was FAR MORE successful than I could have imagined!! I knew that my reading motivation was back, but I didn’t know it would come back THIS strong!! I managed to read FIVE BOOKS (1 of which is being finished today) for a total of 1,702 pages!! I had a busy work week so I wasn’t expecting to read this much! I’m not going to lie – two of these were audiobooks that I listened to while I worked, but still, it’s pages read!!! I also got offered an ARC that nearly killed me when it showed up in my email. Let’s get into the wrap up:

BOOKS I FINISHED THIS WEEK:

Yes, folks, I am still in SHOCK that all of this happened in a week! I don’t even remember the last time I finished 5 books in one week!!! MORNING STAR by Pierce Brown is a book I’ve held off for too long and DAMN it was honestly the best finale i’ve EVER read! This book was so brilliant I can’t handle it!!!!! PAN’S LABYRINTH by Guillermo del Toro took me by surprise by how beautiful and dark it was. SWIPE RIGHT FOR MURDER by Derek Milman was super fast paced and full of outlandish scenarios. A HOUSE AT THE BOTTOM OF A LAKE by Josh Malerman was a novella reread that I read to complete a readathon challenge. And finally, THE LAST NAMSARA by Kristen Ciccarelli is a book that I’ve needed to read for the longest time and now I’m wondering why I left it for so long! This book was so damn good and so bad ass – dragons! There were dragons!!! And the writing…. mind blowing!

Literally all of these books were 4-5 stars….. I don’t know how I chose that many in a row let alone in the same week. My mind is still spinning! I’m going to need to take a day to collect my thoughts…… and clean my damn house! I haven’t done anything during this readathon….. and it shows! LOL! I completed all of the readathon challenges too! That’s also the first time that’s ever happened! I couldn’t be happier with how this week played out!!! Full reviews of these will be coming over the next week or so.

BOOKS I’M CURRENTLY READING:

That’s right! It’s time for a Nevernight series reread!!!!!!!!! I bought a fresh supply of page flags and sticky lined post it notes and I’m going to town! He’s made some hint about things in Darkdawn that were laid out in the previous two books so I want to do a reread and see if I can piece some things together. Honestly, I was so invested in these books the first time around, I read them so quickly and didn’t retain as much as I wanted to. So, the series reread will help me with that. And why am I doing a series reread so early??? READ BELOW!!!!!

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS:

TOP 5 TUESDAY:

The alphabet titles series is coming to a close – and I’m SO sad about it! This week was the second last post in the series featuring the letters P-Q-R-S-T. The last post in the series is this week with the letters U-V-W-X-Y-Z. Yes, there’s an extra letter in there, but let’s face it, these letters are the hardest to find!! The topics for August will be posted in the afternoon tomorrow…… get ready! Hope you like them!

I’M GETTING A UNICORN!!!!! A UNICORN ARC I MEAN!!!!!

This week, the most amazing and impossible thing happened…….. I was offered an ARC for a book that is my most anticipated book EVER!!!! I actually put in a request for it a while ago, but I requested too late, and I was heartbroken. It hurt so much knowing that there were ARC’s out there, and I was too late to the party. When the publisher offered this book to me I was so excited I was dizzy, shaky, and couldn’t eat. I had to sit down I was so excited!!!! What book am I so excited for?

I’M GETTING AN ARC OF DARKDAWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m still in denial that this is happening. Problem is, I need to do a reread of Nevernight and Godsgrave first! I guess this girl will be speed reading……. I know this book is going to kill me. And I’m not ready. But I’m so ready at the same time!

LESS THAN 150 TO 3,000??

I can’t believe I just typed that! It’s true – I am less than 150 followers until I reach 3,000 followers on this blog……….. excuse me while I pass out! When I first started this blog, my goal was 100 followers. That number was so unattainable to me. I couldn’t imagine having 100 people read my ramblings about books. And now, here I am, almost at 3,000…… it doesn’t seem real! I’m going to need to do an epic giveaway to show my thanks. Any ideas??

Flower divider

That was my insane and unbelievable bookish week!! I’m a little blown away by how well this week went, and I know that when Darkdawn shows up at my house, I’ll be able to swim in a puddle of my own tears of excitement. I hope you had a great week too!!!

Until next time, happy reading!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. J.W. Martin says:

    So you’re going to let me pick your reading list more often?? Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apparently that seems to be the case! The books you recommended I fell head over heels for!!!

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh, this sounds like it was an amazing week for you! Congrats on reading all those amazing books, and getting an ARC of Darkdawn!

    Like

  3. CJR The Brit says:

    Congrats on Darkdawn and nearly 3k followers! I’m yet to read Nevernight, I need to get on that soon!!!

    Like

  4. Lola says:

    Superb job! I participated in the Reading Rush too! I found you on The Reading Rush website and sent you a friend request 😉 I may actually be completing my seventh book today (wow!), though there were a couple of short books, a graphic novel and a poetry book in there, so I only read 1200 pages, not including today.
    I am planning to read Godsgrave in August – so jealous you got the ARC for Darkdawn!

    Like

  5. Colline says:

    Wow, that is a lot of reading!
    Congratulations on receiving a book of your desire 😄

    Like

  6. LAST NAMSARA! That’s a book I think needs a little more love, there are some great How to Train Your Dragon moments, I just loved it to bits.

    Like

  7. I’ll get the less screamy things out of the way first:
    a) I’m so glad you enjoyed The Last Namsara!!! I feel like it doesn’t get screamed about enough!! (I feel like I need to warn you that The Caged Queen follows Roa, not Asha because so many people hated book 2 for that, but I thought it was amazing)
    b) CONGRATS on almost 3000 followers!! You really deserve it, you do so much good for the book community 😘
    Finally:
    YOU GOT AN ARC OF DARKDAWN OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!! 😍 I hope it’s amazing and you love it so much!! (I am still internally screaming for you)

    Like

  8. Holly says:

    WOOOOO for almost 3,000 followers!! That’s amazing!! ❤ Glad you had a great week 🙂

    Like

  9. nice week I am about to put mine up I almost finished 2 books last night but I got tired and went to bed how are you reading both nevernight and godsgrave when godsgrave is the second book

    Like

  10. I’m sitting here like..
    I’M GONE FOR SIX MONTHS AND YOU DO ALL THIS AND GET THAT UNICORN AND WTF EVEN HAPPENED ON HERE.

    [Also, if I’m ever near you, I demand the chance to hug that Darkdawn ARC in hopes of it rubbing it’s unicorn magic off on me.]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂 a lot has happened!! And how are you doing???

      Like

      1. That much is obvious, haha!

        I’m doing okay. The combination Jamie/work is tiring as hell, especially now he’s teething and barely wants to go to sleep at night so I’m running on minimum amount of sleep but all good apart from that. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh I don’t miss those days at all…… my son never slept and I ran on 3-4 hours a sleep for years….. it does come to an end, I promise!

          Like

          1. ohmygodno. He’s not like that -yet?-, it’s just some days. Especially now he’s going to daycare and is in a lot of noise all day. He wasn’t really used to that so he compensates by acting like a little hyperactive bunny when we get home. He slept through the night last night though so now I’m ready to tackle Friday! 😛

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Small victories!!! Hopefully he slept through the night on the weekend too!!!

            Like

          3. He did! Unfortunately, the night before last wasn’t like that at all. The kid has a starting ear infection so it’s basically hell getting him to sleep. 😦

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Oh no!!! I hope his ears are feeling better!

            Like

  11. Ruqs says:

    YAY WELL DONE!!!! 🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment