Weekly Wrap Up – March 12 – 18

WOW!!! What a week! I read a lot, I liked the books I read, and I hauled a few ARC’s that I’m SOOOO excited for! I feel like I’ve found my groove dealing with the balance of work, reading, cleaning and the kids. Speaking of kids, I still managed to read a lot even though it was March Break! Score a few points for me!! I am however dealing with some continued health issues and have spent a lot of time at the chiropractor. I also have a doctors appointment next week so I’m hoping that things get straightened out quickly. I’ve been throwing myself into books to forget about all these issues actually. But I’m not going into all of that right now. Anyways, here’s how my week went!

BOOKS I’VE READ THIS WEEK:

That’s right – I finished 3 books again this week!! One I had almost completely finished last week, and the other two were less than 300 pages. So I know it seems like I read a lot but the pages were much less than last week.

THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VITRUE <—– (full review)
This book was so much fun! It was just the humour and adventure that I needed! There were a few small issues that I had with it, specifically the direction and over all atmosphere of the book. I’m not going to get into it here, if you want to know more, check out my review.

Next was That Time I Loved You by Carrianne Leung. This one was so strangely addicting! I got an email from Harper Collins asking if I would be interested in some books on a list. This one sounded the most interesting and I’ve been wanting to get into more adult fiction so I went for it. I’m glad that I did! I really enjoyed it. What also drew me in was that the author is Canadian and this book is set less than 3 hours away from me! My review will be coming tomorrow.

And finally, I read Tyler Johnson Was Here. I took a chance on asking the publisher for this one and they actually sent me a finished copy – so thanks a million Hachette Canada! This is a very important and insightful read, however, I did have some problems with the writing style. I’m also trying very hard to figure out how to review this book properly. I struggle with words and conveying what I’m thinking. I have a way with intending one thing and then it comes out wrong. This is a touchy subject and if I mix up my words I could end up offending someone and I don’t want to do that. It’s going to take me a while to write and revise this review. I hope it will be up this week.

BOOKS I’M CURRENTLY READING:

So basically the coming week is known as THE BEST READING WEEK EVER!!!!!!!!!!! I preordered Obsidio back in October and I think they forgot about it. I ended up having to call the company to ask when it was being delivered. Three days after the book was released I got an email that it was shipped! It came in on Friday and I was a little (a lot!) upset that I didn’t make the casualty list. I wanted so badly to be in this book! Oh well. Either way this is going to be amazing watching it all come together. I’m afraid of Jay Kristof’s brutality with his characters though….. I hope they all make it out alive. Probably not.

Yet another thank you goes out to a publisher for a beautiful copy of Children of Blood and Bone! My husband checked the mail box and brought it into our store when we had 5 customers standing in front of me. I literally screamed when he handed it over! I don’t care that they looked at me like I had 4 heads. I AM SOOO EXCITED!!! The buzz about this book is impossible to ignore, especially now that it’s number 1 on the NYT bestsellers list 🙂

 

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS:

TOP 5 TUESDAY:

This is the first week in months that I didn’t have appointments and obligations on a Tuesday! I was on time with the participants and it felt wonderful! This weeks topic was the Top 5 books that lived up to the hype and I have to say that the recommendations that I got from the participants was just amazing! My TBR is crying right now lol. If you’re interested in participating, this weeks topic is Top 5 Contemporary/fiction that are either YA or adult. I’ve read a lot of contemporary over the last 12 months so I don’t know how I’ll narrow it down. I do have an appointment this week though so…… I’ll do my best. Why does it always happen on Tuesday’s??

BULLET JOURNAL UPDATE:

For those of you who were interesting in my new “pages read” spread, I did an updated bullet journal post HERE and included some pictures. I was so glad to hear that so many other people have pages like this and are helping motivate themselves through visual representation!

TINY LIFE UPDATE:

This week is going to be a little busy and stressful. Our business is in the heart of its busy season and I’m working hard to get orders out. I have a doctors appointment that I’ve been waiting weeks for so that I can get my health figured out. It’s my dads birthday on the 21st, and there is so much happening with the kids in school. Now that they’re in separate schools I have to really pay attention to whats happening, where, and when. So my focus will be mainly with my personal life this week. I will still be around but won’t have the chance to blog hop much and it may take me longer than normal to respond to comments. But I’ll get to it – I promise!

Hope you all had a fantastic week and an even better week to come!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Great review, thanks for sharing! I love it when I find Canadian books. I’ve even read a couple by Eric Walters that took place a twenty minute drive away from me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so weird finding books set in Canada! Especially ones close to home. There aren’t many books set here so they feel like a rare gem. Station Eleven was set in part 5 minutes from my house and described the area perfectly. It was eerie!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree! It’s a weird feeling, and I’m always surprised to find them 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Best covers – nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Naty says:

    I loved this post, so upbeat!!! I hope your health issues are solved quickly! Also I’m so so hyped for Children of Blood and Bone!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And Children of Blood and Bone is longer than I expected – my copy is almost 600 pages! But from what I hear it’s a quick read. Hope you love it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. vanessawolfe says:

    I finished reading Children of Blood and Bone and it’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhh I can’t wait!! I haven’t heard a single bad thing about it

      Like

  5. Kristin says:

    You go, girl! Good job! Glad you had a great reading week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. All the best for your busy week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Norrie says:

    i really like the cover of that time i loved you
    not sure what it’s about, but just that image is giving me some good vibes
    can’t wait to see your review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wasn’t sure about the cover for it at first but it’s really grown on me! The review is up now 🙂 https://bionicbookwormblog.wordpress.com/2018/03/19/that-time-i-loved-you/

      It includes a synopsis to give you more information about it

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Cindy says:

    I’m almost finished Children of Blood and Bone and it’s so good! I’m also really excited to start Obsidio 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t heard a single person say a bad thing about Children of Blood and Bone. I’m so excited! Obsidio is amazing so far! These authors are brutal and don’t hold anything back. And Kady and Ezra are everything in this one ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Andie says:

    Oohh, nice reading week, really productive! I’ve been meaning to read Gentleman’s Guide for so long… I really hope I’ll get to it soon!

    This week I might finally join the weekly meme! Let’s hope so omg if all goes right and I get to write my post today 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yippee! I’ll be glad to have you! Just make sure that you link a specific post of mine and not the main site link. That way I’ll get a notification and I can add you to the participants list 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Andie says:

        Haven’t been able to write it today but I’m still holding out hope that I’ll be able to write it tomorrow!

        I’ll probably link to your latest 💛

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Can’t wait to see your list 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  10. kyera says:

    Best of luck this week! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment