If you like this then….. #2

Welcome to another edition of If You Like This Then….. where I recommend books that reminded me of another. These books aren’t necessarily the same, but they do have certain elements that reminded me of another – hence, if you liked one then you will like the other! Here are the two books I will be recommending this week:

Arrow

Station eleven

First is Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. This has been very popular in the book community for the last few years – it’s basically been a slow and consistent rumble. A travelling theatre company is moving through what remains of the lower Canada and upper American region after a mysterious disease takes over the world and dissolves everything we ever knew. People were left with a new idea of survival, all were searching for roots and protection. We go back and forth through the characters, getting to see what happened “before” that brought them together in the present. This is a very slow burning, character driven story that focuses on the human connection and survival. What I found most interesting is that it actually mentions where I live! I’ve never had a book set in my little part of the Great Lakes region! I have to say that it was a little creepy since it was all but decimated, but seeing the town names was so cool!

The space between the stars

If you liked Station Eleven, then I KNOW you’ll loveΒ The Space Between the Stars (full review). Once again, this one focuses on a deadly virus that kills all but a small percent of people. The main character Jamie thought that she was all alone until she finds a few other survivors. This new group of survivors travels through space, visiting new planets, and searching for what comes next. Literally the whole time I was reading this all I could think of was Station Eleven. They were so very similar! Just like in Station Eleven, it was the characters and the emotions that made the story!

Here’s what these two books have in common:

  • A deadly disease/virus that takes over the world
  • Humanity learns how to survive
  • Humanity searching for what comes next
  • Slow burning
  • VERY character driven
  • A focus on connection and the human emotion
  • Transitions of past and present events to further explain the characters, their actions, their connections, and emotions

Arrow

If you’ve read one of these and are looking for something similar, I HIGHLY recommend these! Have you read either? And do you agree that they’re alike?

Until next time, happy reading!

 

17 Comments Add yours

  1. I really need to read Station Eleven! It sounds like the exact kind of book I end up loving πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Angela JC says:

    I love these posts! I haven’t read either of these books though, but they sound really interesting so I’ll definitely be checking them out! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe thanks! I love doing these!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. i have not read both, but i badly want to read “station eleven”! both books sound so good! thanks for sharing! πŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well hopefully you will have another one to look forward to if you end up enjoying station eleven!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sophie Li says:

    I absolutely loved Station Eleven πŸ™‚ just added The Space Between the Stars to my tbr πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Annie says:

    I promised myself this year I was going to finally read Station Eleven…let’s see haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I make tons of those promises to myself. And I fail almost every time πŸ˜‚ I hope you enjoy it when you get to it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I like seeing these types of posts where you compare one book to another. I will have to look up Station Eleven!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Station Eleven is worth the read. It wasn’t my favourite but it’s great for those who like character driven over plot. It focused A LOT on connections and emotions πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like I will enjoy it! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I hope so! Can’t wait to see what you think of it when/if you pick it up!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s