Sorcery Of Thorns

SORCERY OF THORNS

Written by Margaret Rogerson

Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books, June 4, 2019

My star rating – 5 stars

THE SYNOPSIS:

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather. She hopes to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s desperate intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice in the capital. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined. Find it on Goodreads

spoiler free graphic

MY REVIEW:

This type of book is my favourite type of experience sometimes. It’s not mind blowing – not something that will throw you over with emotion or knock you over with unexpected plot twists. This is the type of book that takes you away, brings you along on an adventure, puts a smile on your face and you have one hell of a time!

Ok, yes, I totally loved the characters, the world, and the plot. But this is the type of book that you experience! You need to read it to feel everything that it has to offer. In one minute you’re walking around an ancient library (with books that talk!) and investigating magic. Then the next minute you’re in the middle of a murder mystery and fleeing for your life whist also wielding a sword. Then the next chapter you’re travelling to a new place with a mysterious (cute) man not having a clue what’s in store for your future. And that was just the first few chapters! The pacing of this book will have you on the tip of your toes wondering what could possibly happen next!

The characters were ALL fantastic! The main character Elisabeth is an orphan who’s grown up in a library. She’s dreamed of nothing more than taking care of the grimoires that are housed within the libraries. Some are just regular books. Some are dangerous beyond belief – it all depends on how they are classed from 1-10. She was such an interesting character because she was so sheltered within the library. When tragedy strikes she’s removed from the only place she called home and explores the world outside of the library. She’s exposed to sorcery, demons, politics, and so much more. Because she was so sheltered, her relationships were all the more interesting as she navigated who she is, who she can trust, and what she wants out of life.

Then there’s Nathaniel. I LOVED Nathaniel! He was a powerful and mysterious sorcerer who comes from a long line of magic. He’s not quite friendly though not quite mean. He seems as though he’s got the best of intentions in mind but not quite sure how to go about it. He also had this secret tortured past that would cause these nightmares that ended up making the walls bleed……

But my favourite character of the whole book? SILAS! He’s the demon indebted to Nathaniel after Nathaniel traded years of his life to have Silas at his service. He’s this scary powerful demon man who is actually quite terrifying but can also make you a gourmet breakfast while simultaneously choosing you a kick ass wardrobe for the fall season. He’s kind of like a stereotypical gay best friend who is also somehow satan and will melt your eyeballs when his master snaps his fingers. I was a little sad to see that this was a standalone book because I wanted more Silas!! Please Margaret Rogerson? Please write a Silas spin off?? I will love you forever!

Do I need to mention once again that there are libraries and talking books? If that isn’t the selling point that convinces you to read this book then I don’t know what else to tell you! This was a fun escape that had me entertained the whole way through! I highly recommend!

Until next time, happy reading!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved your review! I can’t wait to read this book ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe thanks for your kind words ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. evelynreads1 says:

    I’m so happy you loved it! I did as well! Great review!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this one! It had everything I need in a book.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. madisonsinkwell says:

    I’m so glad you loved this! It’s on my TBR but the talking books make me want to read it right now

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂 taking books is a huge selling point, I agree!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bookwormmuse says:

    I have been putting this one off because I got caught up in the Farseer trilogy but your review is making me want to read it again. And this time properly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂 I hope you can make it through soon!

      Like

  6. This is a strong contender for favorite book of the year. I already knew I was having an amazing time with it, but I didn’t realize how much it had gotten under my skin until I read the very last line and burst into tears. In public. Which I don’t do. It was just a book that hit every single button that makes me happy.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow. Any book that makes you cry in public deserves to be a favourite of the year!! I love those unexpected emotional reads!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I loved the characters in this book so much. Really can’t emphasize enough how much I loved reading this book. That ending!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment