If you like this then….. #15

It’s time for another “If you like this then….. you’ll like this!” recommendation! I just finished the book A Thousand Pieces of You last night. In that book, my favourite part was where the characters go to a dimension where they’re in Russia. It was a very old fashioned, cold yet beautiful atmosphere. The book itself was amazing, but this portion really spoke to my soul. So that got me thinking of books with the same types of atmosphere. I immediately thought of these two books.

The bear and the nightengale

First we have The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden. Even the cover speaks of a cold and beautiful atmosphere! This book was so rich in so many ways. First there was the setting. This was actually set in the Russian wilderness. They didn’t live in shambles. They actually had a large comfortable property with servants and everything. They were related to Royalty and were quite high in the hierarchy of this village. Then there was the folklore elements. Everything was so steeped in traditions and tales that have been told throughout the years. There was also a paranormal element to this as well! CLICK HERE for my full review.

Wintersong

And if you like’s The Bear and the Nightingale, I think you’ll like Wintersong by S Jae-Jones. This one is set in Bavaria where a girl and her family are trying to keep the Inn afloat. Her whole life she’s heard tales of the Goblin King. They’re just meant to be tales, but she thinks of him constantly – he even comes through her musical compositions. One day her sister goes missing and she finds herself face to face with the beings she didn’t think could be real. The setting was so dark and rich, but the relationships were so powerful!! I absolutely devoured this book I loved it so much! CLICK HERE for my full review.

HERE’S WHAT THESE TWO BOOKS HAVE IN COMMON:

  • Deeply rich settings that are cold, dark, beautiful, and comforting – I really can’t say enough for the atmosphere’s that were created in these two books! Both were set in a cold European setting where we get to experience multiple seasons. The character’s ways of life were very old and traditional, with family being a priority. These settings were often cold and unforgiving, yet the characters thrived and worked hard to support themselves. Even though it was dark and brutal, there was strangely something so beautiful and comforting about it all!
  • Demon/Frost Kings – Ah, the mysterious legend! In each story we are presented with a Demon/Frost King who is deep, dark, and mysterious. These characters had some similarities, yet were totally different in their own ways. They also played a large part in the protagonists life.
  • Fairytales and folklore come true – I am all for a good folklore tale! And these two had them in spades! Both were so complete and well written. Each of the stories weaved their way in and out of the protagonists real life. There were also the blurred lines of what was real and what was just out of the story they heard by the fire at night. The tales themselves may have seemed like cautionary tales but they had such a lifelike quality to them. This was my favourite part of both of these books!
  • Strong female protagonists finding their own way – Both of the girls in the story were quite similar to me. Both were never given the chance to make their own choices. They were given tasks and obligations due to their “female nature” and weren’t given the same opportunities as the men. When they were given the chance, they had to make some decisions just for themselves. Yes, they were strong, but they were also delicate and made mistakes. Both girls were trying to do what was right by their hearts but was also right for their families.

Arrow

Though both of these books have their own plot, it’s the atmosphere and small similarities that make me group these two together. I read both of these in the heart of winter. Snow falling outside, chilly temperatures – and it was a magical experience with them both! I highly recommend them! So if you’ve read one of these, I bet you’ll like the other!

Until next time, happy reading!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Kiersten says:

    I loooove these posts. I feel like I’m always looking for “similar” books to ones I enjoy, but have a hard time finding good recommendations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you enjoy these! I enjoy writing them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex says:

    I really enjoy these posts not only because you talk about books not on my radar, but through your love of them, also make me see them too.nso much so, this time around, I’ve added both of these to my buy list. They sound so intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe this makes me so happy 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved Wintersong so maybe I should read The Bear and the nightingale? It’s been on my tbr for far too long!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would say yes!! It’s less on the romantic side opposed to Wintersong. It more focuses on the family, setting, and paranormal folklore. I hope you love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. onespeculiar says:

    I enjoyed wintersong! So hopefully I’ll enjoy the bear and the nightingale as well. It’s been setting on my shelf for a while now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know what you think of it when you finish it! But I have a feeling you’ll really like it too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment