May 2018 Wrap Up!

May is usually the month when my reading starts to slow down. As the temperatures rise, my heart is with my kids (as always), the outdoors, the pool, campfires, and everything summer time. I’m happy to report that this was a great reading month!! I read 9 books in total (so close to double digits!) and 4 of those were in the first week!! Kids are out of school at the end of June, so I know that things will change soon enough. But I’m taking it all in while I still can! Here’s what I read this month:

SAGA VOLUME FIVE and VOLUME SIX by Fiona Staples and Brian K Vaughn – 5 stars

Continuing on with my Saga reread, I finished volumes 5 and 6 this month. Same as the others – no review as these are rereads 🙂

My lady Jane

MY LADY JANE by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows <—– (full review) 5 stars!

This book!!! WOW! I read it because it was chosen as my TBR unhaul book for May. It’s one that I’ve wanted to read for the longest time but always kept putting it off. I am kicking my own ass for waiting for so long! This book was amazing and will most definitely make my top 10 for 2018! There were elements of historical fiction, magical realism, fantasy, and so much more. But it was the fact that the romance was adorable and the humour had me laughing the whole way through that made this one of my new favourites!

A court of frost and starlight

A COURT OF FROST AND STARLIGHT by Sarah J Maas <—– (Full review) 5 stars!

Like I said in my review, this book was like coming home! It felt great to be back in this world and with the Night Court. This family is such a joy. If I could choose any fictional family to be a part of, this would be the one (ok, aside from being a Weasley!). Mainly I was excited to be back with Az. He slowly grew to be a part of my heart. Looking forward to the continuing trilogy!

The final six

THE FINAL SIX by Alexandra Monir <—– (Full review) 2.75 stars

This book was difficult for me. On one hand it was good. The writing was fantastic! I absolutely loved the flow of her words, the descriptions, the world building, and the characters. BUT – there were too many negatives for me to enjoy it. I got caught up in the fact that there wasn’t enough forward direction with the plot to keep me interested. It seemed to drag and focus on things for too long. I feel like it could have been condensed a little bit. And then there was the romance. Literally the most eye rolling and annoying romance on the planet. I won’t continue with this series, but I will read more from her in the future!

Lifel1k3

LIFEL1K3 by Jay (the writing god) Kristoff <—– (Full review) obviously 5 stars

This book only heightened my obsession with this man. He is King! No, not Stephen King. King of writing fucking amazing books! Sorry, but I get a little excited. This book was amazing! He had such incredible balance with this one. A human life struggling that introduces artificial intelligence. Then the humans are faced to walk the line of rights, protection, and relationships between the two. There were also science fiction elements balance with a dystopian world AND an Anastasia retelling! So much going on but was never overwhelming. It’s been a while and I still haven’t stopped thinking about this book!!

The song of achilles

THE SONG OF ACHILLES by Madeline Miller <—– (Full review) 4 stars

Yet another book that I held off from reading. I think I stayed away from it because I didn’t really know anything about the story of Achilles. I felt that I would either be confused or feel like I was left out because I didn’t know the back story. But bloggers insisted that I MUST read it – so I did – and it was great! As wonderful as Achilles was, Patroclus was everything. Now I need to pick up Circe!

Only human

ONLY HUMAN by Sylvain Neuvel (book 3 of the Themis files) 3.5 stars

I finished this one a few days ago and haven’t had the chance to write and post the review. I was highly anticipating this series finale, but I was a little let down. Compared to books one and two, there was a significant reduction in the action and mystery. It was a satisfying ending, but not quite what I expected. Full review will be coming next week hopefully 🙂

Legendary

LEGENDARY by Stephanie Garber <—– (full review) 5 stars

It’s a very rare occasion indeed where I enjoy the sequel better than the first book, but this one is definitely in that category! I absolutely loved Tella which I didn’t expect at all. In Caraval I found a lot of faults with Scarlett and Tella, but after reading her perspective, I may have fallen for her. This book was full of mystery, confusion, twists, darkness and magic. The authors writing also improved – not saying that the first book was substandard, but I noticed a positive shift for her in this one! Can’t wait for book 3!


So there’s the month of May! I don’t think I’ve ever read that much in May before! I have to say that I’m really proud of myself – that goal of 100 books in 2018 might just be possible!!!!!!!! What did you read in the month of May?

Until next time, happy reading!

31 Comments Add yours

  1. judithcmoore says:

    I’m so desperate to read LifeL1k3!!!! I have it preordered for the UK edition and it won’t come until July 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The UK edition is beautiful! I will be picking that one up for sure! Hope you love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Belle's Book Blog says:

    Love your thoughts on ACOFAS! I felt the exact same way. Please, explain the idea of a TBR unhaul because if it’s what I think it is then I want to participate lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Here’s the link to the introduction post. It’s easier than me explaining the whole thing in here. It’s only been one month but it’s helped me clear two books from my backlist 🙂 let me know if you participate. I’d love to read your journey!
      https://bionicbookwormblog.wordpress.com/2018/04/16/introducing-the-tbr-unhaul-challenge/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read A Court of Frost and Starlight as well this month and I really loved being back! Like you said, if felt like going back home 🙂 Great reading month by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Glad you loved it too! My mom just picked it up and I can’t wait to see what she thinks. She loved the trilogy so much she was texting me all hours of the night to talk about it 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha that’s awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome reading month!! I need to start the Caraval series it looks so good!! I love ACOFAS the world is one I would sell my soul to experience! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly!!!! I would be down for selling my soul to experience it too!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. meltotheany says:

    Amazing wrap up, love! I hope June is amazing, too! Happy reading! 💕xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope your June is amazing as well!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Impressive reading month! Saga and The Song of Achillies just moved up a few places on my TBR Tower…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂TBR Tower? Oh now that’s the perfect way to describe it! The word “pile” seems much smaller in comparison to “tower”!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. The name of my blog is actually based on a true story 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Quality wise you had a fantastic month Shanah!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I would rather quality over quantity 🙂

      Like

  8. I just scheduled my May recap (tomorrow) as well, but must admit your 100 book challenge exceeds mine. Some months just have more time inside! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is the first time ever that I’ve set a goal that high. I always stick with 50. I must have been drunk when I set the goal at triple digits, but I wanted to see if it was possible. Never hit triple digits in my adult life. And it just might happen!
      And you’re right. Some months just have more time. Some months, none at all

      Like

  9. onespeculiar says:

    my lady jane was so good and adorable and funny!! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I can’t wait to read acofas I want to dedicate a whole week for it! i’m not going to continue reading the nevernight trilogy, but i’ll sure check lifelik3!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol ACOFAS deserves some time dedicated to it. I hope you lose yourself in the world and love every minute of it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. onespeculiar says:

        it sure does haha! I hope that too!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. kyera says:

    Looks like it was a really great month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did! And June is looking even more exciting 🙂 hope you have a great month!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. EduPub says:

    I Really Like Your Thoughts Shanah

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Amber says:

    Ahh, so glad you liked LIFEL1K3! I loved it too, but I’ve seen it get a lot of shade and seems widely considered to be his most “inferior” book? Idk, maybe I run in the wrong circles. 😛 So glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? I haven’t heard anyone say that yet. In comparison to Nevernight though, it’s a totally different book so I can see why some people would t enjoy it as much. But I loved it. Glad you felt the same 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. 9 books! Sounds like an awesome reading month especially with all the great books on your list! I hope you have a good June even if it’s outside enjoying the nice weather! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment