Shocking April Book Haul!

No. This isn’t clickbait. This book haul is literally shocking! And that’s because I only took ONE book into my possession this month! See! Shocking! But it’s one that I’m really excited for for a number of reasons. It’s also shocking because it’s a YA mystery!!

Sadie

Thanks to the ever generous people of Raincoast books and Wednesday books, I received an ARC of Sadie by Courtney Summers. This is an author that I’ve heard of many times on BookTube and blogs, but haven’t taken the chance to read her just yet. But the premise was too unique and intriguing to pass up!

A gripping novel about the depth of a sister’s love; poised to be the next book you won’t be able to stop talking about.

A missing girl on a journey of revenge and a Serial-like podcast following the clues she’s left behind.

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.

When West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

Doesn’t that sound amazing??! I’m not usually one for mysteries, but over the last few months I’ve read and really enjoyed a few of them. I figured that maybe my reading tastes are shifting yet again and I wanted to keep the momentum going. I also noticed that the author is Canadian! She’s actually from Ontario, only a few hours away from me, and lives in the same town as my husbands friend! The connections were surprising!

But, I have to say that the biggest draw in for this book is that it’s based on a podcast. Just last month I stumbled upon The Last Podcast on the Left – which is a podcast that highlights murders, occult, paranormal, and all things creepy. They’re hilarious, which brings the mood up a little bit, as the content can be seriously dark and disturbing. So to have a book that includes something like this is right in my wheelhouse!

Sadly, this book doesn’t publish until September, so it’s going to be a while until you hear my thoughts on it, but this sounds like an amazing beach read! I can’t wait! If you’re interested in looking into this one, you can find it here on Goodreads.

Until next time, happy reading!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. total clickbait…. :]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds awesome!

    I was completely addicted to the Serial podcast! I’ll definitely check out the The Last Podcast on the Left….. it totally sounds like my kind of thing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you’ll like it. Though I’ve been seriously creeped out a time or two!

      Like

  3. beereaderbooks says:

    I admire your restraint haha I am on a book ban until at least June because I have so many to read now not a terrible dilemma to have really but the pressure is on to beat pub.dates

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good luck with your ban! Those are always so hard! It seems like all the best books come out when you decide you’re not going to buy them anymore 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. SHOCKING!
    And wow, this book looks really cool!! I’m not typically one for mysteries, but I like that this one is podcast based!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I know, right? I might read 1 or 2 mysteries in a year, but this one was so unique

      Like

  5. Justine says:

    There are two things to shriek about here. First, ONE BOOK? I’m so impressed! Seriously, I want to get on that level.

    Second, I freaking LOVE Last Podcast on the Left! They’re my absolute favourite and I love love love them so much. Their humor took a little while for me to adjust to because they can go slightly overboard, but they’re so amazing and the research they do is incredible. I’ve never met anyone who listens to them too!!!! They’re working on a book now and I can’t wait to get my paws on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never met anyone who listens to them either!! Your right – they do take things overboard sometimes. I usually skip through a few seconds when they get really wide tracked. But isn’t it great?! I had no clue they were doing a book!!! This is amazing! NEED IT!! Now I’m absolutely convinced that we are twins from across the pond!! ❤️

      Like

  6. Dreamy Reads says:

    You have some will power! But the plot of this book sounds interesting. I’m definitely reading this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment