Weekly/Off The Grid Readathon Wrap Up!

Hey all! It’s been a few days since you’ve seen me and that’s because I’ve been OFF THE GRID reading!!! That’s right! The second round of the Off The Grid Readathon of 2019 happened this weekend and holy hell was it a good one! I’ve had the urge to read lately and it feels so good! I’ve been struggling with a slump over the last two months and the need to read hasn’t been there. So I took advantage of the urge and got a TON of reading done this weekend! Some were great, some not so great – but it was a lot of pages read all the same. I also started off the readathon in the hospital……… more on that at the end of this post lol.

BOOKS I READ FOR THE READATHON:

I DID IT!!!! My goal for the readathon was to complete 3 books. I read 3 books from start to finish and then DNF’d one of them. The first book I read was KISS THE GIRL BY TARA SIVEC. This was the third book to the naughty princess club series and it was hands down my favourite! Ariel’s point of view was everything I hoped it would be! The next book I read was NOCTURNA BY MAYA MOTAYNE and man oh man am I ever glad I binge read this one! I absolutely loved it and really had fun reading it. It was very easy to get lost in. The next book is the one that I DNF’d which was THE MISSING SEASON BY GILLIAN FRENCH. I’m so sad about this but I just couldn’t get past the writing! The writing style was such a struggle. It felt immature, choppy, and unemotional. And out of the 4 books on this list, this is the one that I was most excited for. I might go back to it at some point, but it might be a little bit. Then, lastly, we have HELLO GIRLS BY BRITTANY CAVALLARO AND EMILY HENRY and this one was every bit the adventure that I hoped for! Reviews for all of these will be coming soon……. but it’s going to take a while to catch up lol

OTHER BOOKS I READ THIS WEEK:

Before the readathon even began, I finished TWO books! I normally wouldn’t have read so much but I was almost finished The Bear when the week began and then Bittersweet was a quick romantic read. THE BEAR BY CLAIRE CAMERON was NOT the right book for me. In my opinion, the perspective of a child made it impossible to enjoy. It took forever to get to the point and there seemed to be a lot of filler. Even though the filler was relevant to a 5 year old, it was just too much for me. More about this in the review to come soon. Then I read BITTERSWEET BY SARINA BOWEN. This one I REALLY enjoyed! The steamy scenes were cheesy and cringeworthy though….. but it was good for a laugh! I really loved the story though! It was really sweet and heartwarming! I loved the family the most!

BOOKS I’M CURRENTLY READING:

Winter of the witch

I haven’t actually started this one, but it will be the next book that I pick up within a few days. I will probably spend a day or two just getting caught up on reviews! I really like this series and I didn’t want to wait too long between books 2 and 3, so this one will be happening soon ๐Ÿ™‚

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS:

TOP 5 TUESDAY:

It felt SOOOO weird to not have a topic this week! The first thing I don in the mornings on Tuesday is read posts and update the list. I woke up and didn’t even touch my computer. It didn’t feel right! This Tuesday it’s back, and the topic is……. Top 5 five star predictions!!!! This is going to be interesting! I plan on reading these soon so I will follow mine up with an update at some point ๐Ÿ™‚

I TOOK MY DAUGHTER TO A CONCERT (While also driving in the city and didn’t die)

For Christmas I got my daughter concert tickets to her favourite band. Tuesday (which is the reason for the cancellation of Top 5 Tuesday this week) we drove to Toronto with a friend of her’s to see Why Don’t We. They’re not my favourite, but she was soooooo happy! But I’ve never driven in a city before. Even being a passenger gives me anxiety! But I did it for her (it was so worth it) and no one died lol!

I ENDED UP IN THE HOSPITAL ON THE FIRST NIGHT OF THE READATHON!

Here’s the readathon drama I was talking about. The first day of the readathon I had a bad headache. I tried everything to get rid of it, and it only got worse. By the time the sun set, it was unbearable. I was also starting to get vision problems. So I went out to the hospital and expected to wait a while. Nope. She grabbed my health card and ushered me into trauma. Apparently my pupils weren’t responding equally and they were worried. I started to twitch and my legs had no strength. I was put on oxygen and IV fluids, and rested for a bit. When I went to go to the bathroom, my vision got REALLY weird! I saw spots like I was staring directly at the sun and could only see things on the outside. Then, my vision went completely dark, blurry, and looked like it was shaking. Turns out it was an ocular migraine….. I don’t suggest it lol! 3 injections, a bag of fluids, blood tests, and rest, my vision came back and my head no longer felt like it was breaking apart. I was smart enough to rest on Saturday and my amazing husband let me catch up on sleep. He knows how to take care of me and I appreciate it more than he knows!

Flower divider

I can’t believe all of that happened in one week! Read 6 books, went to a concert, ended up in the hospital, and started spring cleaning my house! My son also got glasses and he looks freaking adorable! It was a chaotic, adventurous, and AMAZING WEEK despite the hospital visit. Now hopefully I can relax this week though lol!

Until next time, happy reading!

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh dear. That sounds like quite an ordeal. Hope you’re feeling all better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My life is never boring thatโ€™s for sure! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! So many books. That’s amazing!

    Just reading about your headache gave me a headache. I suffer fro migraines and they can be debilitating. I can’t imagine having one to the extreme!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel so bad for anyone that has migraines. Theyโ€™re impossible to function around. Itโ€™s not like a cough where you can still do things….. sucks ๐Ÿ˜ข

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hannah says:

    Wow such a hectic week yet so so many books read ๐Ÿ™‚ hope youโ€™re feeling better!! -ox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Feeling much better now! Thanks โค๏ธ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Colline says:

    Well done! That is a lot of reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sure was! That amount will probably never happen again ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Like

  5. S.E. White says:

    Wow that is a lot! I’m glad they were able to accurately diagnose and help at the hospital, an ocular migraine sounds like no joke ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ocular migraines are interesting…… ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad you are okay! I finished 2 books which totally rocked that I began before the weekend, started another and decided not to waste my time, and made good progress on a 4th which is great also. Looking forward to the next one and glad you had this one! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow!! Thatโ€™s amazing! Congrats on your productive reading week!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sara@YearofReadingDangerously.com says:

    Woah! Kudos to you for being able to finish all those books after having gone to the emergency room! I’m glad it wasn’t super serious and that you’re okay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was forced to rest so reading was actually possible…. once I could see again that is ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sara@YearofReadingDangerously.com says:

        Then that sounds like a pretty sweet deal (besides the not being able to see factor!)

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Ouch! Migraines are the worst! I hope you’re feeling better and that you never have one of those again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Feeling much better now! Thanks โค๏ธ

      Liked by 1 person

  9. So glad your illness was something you could recover from relatively quickly! Hope you like Winter fo the Witch, I really enjoyed it!

    Like

  10. evelynreads1 says:

    Wow you read a lot! I hope you enjoy the winter of witch, I’m also planning on reading it soon!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Iโ€™m still in shock that I read that much. It will probably never happen again ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow. I hope that is not an experience you have to repeat… the ocular migraine that is… the concert and reading, however, sounded great! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

Leave a comment