If You Like This Then….. #19

Is this really the first “If You Like This Then…..” post of 2019? I think it is! Took me long enough lol! I’ve made it a bit of a personal goal for the blog to do this more often. So many people seem to enjoy these and have actually found a few things that they loved because of these. So I plan on sitting down in the next few weeks and making some more recommendations. Let’s hope I can keep up with this! For this week, I have two VERY exciting young adult science fiction for you! Both by VERY popular authors that I **might be a little obsessed with** You already know who it is, so let’s get into it!

Illuminae

The first book that I want to talk about is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I don’t hide my obsession with Jay Kristoff, but when he teams up with Amie Kaufman, there’s an even brighter sparkle to their magic! This book (and series) is downright incredible! We meet Kady on the day that she breaks up with her boyfriend Ezra. The world feels like it’s crumbling around them….. then, all of a sudden, it literally is! Their planet is attacked by a greedy company wanting to take what they’re mining, and the majority of the planet ends up dead. Both Kady and Ezra manage to escape on ships that take on the survivors. But that’s not the end of this tale. While on these ships, the corporation that blew them up is following them, one of the ship gets sick with a deadly disease, and there’s an AI (artificial intelligence) that seems more intelligent than he should be. There is also the really unique format of this book – told through diagrams, diary entries, video surveillance, instant messages, emails and more. This is a must read if you haven’t already!

Skyward

Next we have a book that I only recently read this January and that is Skyward by Brandon Sanderson. If you caught my spoiler free review then you know that I loved it! Spensa (or main character and total bad ass) has dreamed of nothing more than to follow in her fathers footsteps and become a pilot. She wants to take down the alien species that they call the Krell, and protect her planet and people. Problem is, her father ran away during a Krell attack and he was now know as “The Coward”. Persistent as she is, she vowed to prove herself and crawl out from the shadows of her father, and become the best pilot she could be. Funny thing is, the whole time I was reading it, I kept thinking that there were vibes of Illuminae……. here’s why:

HERE’S WHAT THE TWO BOOKS HAVE IN COMMON:

  • Space war and kick ass space ships – though the wars are very different, and the people they are fighting are different as well, we still have wars in space! These wars are on the brink of climax and time is running out. In Illuminae we have Kady and Ezra fighting to flee and win against an evil corporation. In Skyward we have a planet fighting against an alien race that’s trying to take them down.
  • Artificial intelligence with smart ass, quirky humour – The AI’s in these books weren’t what I expected. I expected dry and monotone commentary. What ended up happening is that I kind of fell in love with both! They were both hilarious, brutally honest, confusing, helpful, frustrating, and everything else in between. They both seemed a little larger than life.
  • Strong/Fearless females – These two ladies (Kady and Spensa) are two of my top favourite bad ass leading ladies! They were both SO determined! Both seemed fearless; and they were in a way. But what they did is used their fears and uncertainties as fuel to push them to do the hard things, to which there were a lot. They fought, they struggled, and they won.
  • Fantastic side characters and friendships – The side characters in these books were amazing! They were so different from our main characters, all adding something different to the picture. Without them, the book wouldn’t have the perspective to do everything it did. Each side character had their own roles and personalities within the team, and made it feel like one giant family.

Flower divider

If you’ve read either one of these, I can pretty much place bets that you’ll love the other! Both are non stop, action packed adventures in space with really amazing characters! Have you read both of these and did you see the similarities?

Until next time, happy reading!

Advertisements

12 Comments Add yours

  1. J.W. Martin says:

    Nice try! But this one’s ALREADY on my TBR. No adding to that today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Erica Mae says:

    Oooooh, I have a copy of The Illuminae Files sitting on my shelf but I haven’t gotten to them yet!!! This post made me want to pick them up sooner. And I’ve also been hearing a lot of good things about Brandon Sanderson’s books!

    Like

  3. I’ve read and loved Skyward, and Illuminae has been on my tbr for a while, but I didn’t realize how similar they are! Especially with the badass female MC – I’m a sucker for that 😀 I guess I’ve gotta read Illuminae soon then!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes – you need to read Illuminae immediately!! 😂

      Like

  4. This is such a great series!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve read Illuminae and loved it. I will add Skyward to my TBR to read eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nia says:

    I actually didn’t have Skyward on my TBR, but after hearing such amazing things about it I’m considering to add it, because now I’m pretty intrigued😅.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s