If You Like This Then….. #11

Hello and happy Thursday! I’m back with another recommendation post – and possibly the most exciting to date……. in a weird way lol. I was lucky enough to get an ARC of The Hazel Wood a few months back and I was a little nervous going into it. Early reviews weren’t as positive as I thought they would be and people were saying that the story went in the opposite direction of where they were expecting it to go. So I went into it with a clear mind and I loved it! It started off with a bit of magical realism (which I normally can’t get into AT ALL) and it was really well done. I’ll explain that in a minute. But, literally the whole time I was reading it, I kept thinking “This feels familiar”. It took me 50% of the book before I realized what I was getting vibes of. And that is City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare! The two aren’t similar at all in the plot/subject matter, but there are a few things that were present that made me think that if you liked one, then you’ll really like the other!!

City of bones

CITY OF BONES by Cassandra Clare

First we have a book that I rarely ever get the chance to talk about – and that’s why this post is so exciting. This is a series that kind of got me back into reading. When I had my kids I stopped reading entirely. I was just too busy. But it was hard not to notice the buzz about these books! I picked it up on a whim and ended up reading all of the available books that year – which was more than I’d read in a long time! This series also helped me realize that I wasn’t too old for YA. AND this series brought me back into my curiosity for fantasy….. It’s not my favourite series ever but it has so much significance in my reading life. Not to mention, the premise was unlike anything I had read to that point. I would explain what this series is about but I bet that you already know from the books, the movie, or the TV show….. I mean it’s everywhere!!

The hazel wood

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert

Next, we have recently released The Hazel Wood. This book has been getting SO MUCH buzz for months and I’ve heard it also got optioned for a movie! The similarities begin lol. This is about a young girl named Alice who is always on the move with her mother. Just as they begin to settle, their bad luck catches up, and they’re on the move yet again. But when they receive word that Alice’s grandmother, author of the cult classic book of fairy tales, passes away, they seem to be able to take it easy….. wrong. Alice’s mother vanishes and she’s forced to follow clues and look to the forbidden life of her grandmother for answers. I know it doesn’t really sound like City of Bones, but I promise that the story structure and the themes are what will make you love this!

HERE’S WHAT THE TWO BOOKS HAVE IN COMMON:

  • Magical realism – We have a modern/current setting and then something happens to combine this world with a magical one. These two worlds coexist with one side not realizing the other and things remain as normal for humans. But for those who are a part of this magical world, reality is warped and telling what’s humanly possible is impossible. I’m the first to admit that magical realism is not my favourite, but in both of these books it was so well done. Lines were blurred perfectly and made the combination of the worlds so interesting!
  • Missing mothers – Why the hell is it always mom?!?!? As a mother I always read books and wonder what I did to deserve such a high percentage of bad happenings. I need to stop taking this so personal lol. But in these two books we have young girls who are dependant on their mothers as they’re the only family they have. When the mom goes missing, the girl is forced to find her own way to the truth of her past that will hopefully lead her to finding her mother.
  • Lies about where they came from – This is a very strong theme between both books. Both of these characters have only their mother as family and both mothers weren’t entirely honest and forthcoming about their past. Both girls wonder where, why, how, and so much more. Each character needs to uncover their past all on their own.
  • Actually being evil – but not really – This is a strange but true similarity. Both girls, when they uncovered the truth about their past, realized that they came from something not entirely happy and positive. This in turn forces each girl to consider what makes them who they are – their upbringing, their choices, or true nature.

Arrow

These two books don’t seem similar in the beginning. Their plots are very different. But the themes and elements of each of these, the characters, and the story structure, make these two books so similar. I have complete faith that if you liked one then you’ll like the other!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. I want to read the Hazel wood. I see so much around and is intriguing so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really enjoyed it! There are some people who didnโ€™t though. It seems very love it or hate it, I hope youโ€™re on the love it side ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really love your these comparison posts ๐Ÿ˜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Wow I would never have thought comparing these books Shanah! Thank you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    It’s funny, when I first saw your post, I wondered how these two books could be similar, but you’re right, there are so many similarities now that you mention it hahaa ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol I know a lot of people are wondering if Iโ€™ve gone bat shit crazy when they first look at this. But when I started to piece things together I was like WOW thereโ€™s so many things that are the same…… yet theyโ€™re so different……. Iโ€™m confused ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Marie says:

        Hahahahaa, well… you keep surprising us with your recommendations so that’s a great thing ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooooo very interesting comparison! I’ve been hearing about/seeing this book all over the place and I’m just going to have to find time to read it for myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Other Weasley says:

    I was very confused by this comparison before I read it. I see how the two are similar in the ways you discussed. Hazelwood is a much better book but I see the themes that you mentioned. And I am the person who just read The Traitor’s Game and am convinced it is way too similar to LOTR (no one ring to rule them all or anything).
    Great job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I personally liked The Hazel Wood more than City of Bones as well. And I havenโ€™t read The Traitors Game yet! The one ring to rule them all comment made me laugh pretty hard though! ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Like

  7. I haven’t read either of these books. I love the connections you are able to make between them though. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ooh these posts are so fun! Maybe I’ll follow this but in reverse. I liked The Hazel Wood but haven’t read the Cassandra Clare book yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really like Cassandra Clare. Her writing is very smooth and builds a great picture ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, great! I loved City of Bones and The Hazel Wood is on my list to read! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a feeling that The Hazel Wood is right up your alley!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s