If You Like This Then….. #10

I recently finished Waking Gods, which is book 2 in the Themis Files series by Sylvain Neuvel, and it was one of the best science fiction books I’ve read in a while! I liked Sleeping Giants, but the sequel made the series something more and complex than was first imagined in Sleeping Giants. Much like what happened in Gemina, the sequel following Illuminae, the story grew into something so large and mind blowing!

Illuminae

First I want to talk about Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff as I feel as though this is the more widely known of the two. We follow Kady and Ezra as they flee to awaiting space ships to take them to safety as their entire planet was attacked. Many people died and the attack was unprovoked. Or so they thought. While aboard these ships there is a strange sickness that kills many, and then the ships artificial intelligence, which is in place to protect them, starts going haywire and causes problems. I read this one with little to no expectations. I assumed that I wouldn’t enjoy it all that much (for whatever reason) and now it’s one of my all time favourite series!

sleeping-giants

Next we have Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. Shortly after finishing Illuminae I was in the mood to read sci-fi, so I went looking for more. I stumbled across Sleeping Giants in the news actually. The author is from Canada and it showed up on a list of new releases. It was perfect timing! This is an adult novel that follows the discovery of a giant hand buried in the earth. The very girl that fell into a hole and found the hand later on becomes the head of the science team that researches the piece. Soon they wonder if this isn’t the only piece that’s out there. This turns into a large team of people looking for parts to this alien robot and what they find is staggering. I was thinking it and a few other people mentioned it as well – it felt like an adult version of Illuminae!

HERE’S WHAT THE TWO BOOKS HAVE IN COMMON:

  • Unique format – Illuminae is told through a series of messages, surveillance, emails, diagrams and more. Sleeping Giants is told much in the same way just not as visual. There are interviews lead by an unidentified man, diary entries, transcriptions, and news
  • Political intrigue – both books are heavy on political intrigue. There are government and corporate influences that are pushing down to make decisions, complicate the mess, make uninformed choices, and causing the problem to begin with. The politics are slightly different, but they have a large part to the story as a whole.
  • Bad ass females – In both books there are characters that that are very strong, determined, brilliant, snarky, and no nonsense. Part of the reason these books were so good was the memorable women! These characters (and also the dialogue) was very realistic.

Arrow

I feel a little bad that the comparisons were quite small with this one but I can honestly say that the format and atmosphere are really what make these books similar. They have a lot of action, are super fast paced, and both have unique formats that enhance the story as a whole. The world building is fantastic but done in a way that I’ve never really seen done before. As almost everything is written from the perspective of a character, we get a  first person and intimate look at the world and situations. If you loved Illumine, then I bet you’ll love Sleeping Giants!

Until next time, happy reading!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Norrie says:

    oooh, now i want to get them both 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LairOfBooks says:

    Great picks! I read Illuminae & own a copy of Sleeping Giants I need to get to soon. I wasn’t aware of the unique format in Sleeping Giants though, now I’m more interested in reading it ASAP! I keep hearing the audiobooks are also very good so I may just do both. Double brownie points for strong leading female characters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg the audiobooks are AMAZING!! Hands down best audiobook experience I’ve ever had! The majority of sleeping giants is told through interviews with a nameless man with a lot of power. It’s so good! But book 2 was even better 🙂

      Like

  3. Marie says:

    Oh I didn’t know about Sleeping Giants, but what an interesting premise, I love it! Thank you so much for sharing this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Illuminae is my absolute favourite book. I have seen Sleeping Giants before but it never really interested me, but now knowing that it is similar to Illuminae I really want to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bet you’ll love it! It’s a little less “space adventure” but still includes the same format and a lot of science and space elements. It takes place on earth

      Like

  5. Nia says:

    I really enjoyed Illuminae and after hearing really good things about Sleeping Giants I decided to read what it was about. Turns out it sounded amazing, so I’m really happy to see you comparing both of them! Makes me even more excited to finally read it😊z

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you looked it up! It’s soooo good!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Illuminae! Definitely going to be checking out Sleeping Giants! Great recommendation! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so amazing! Hope you love it 🙂

      Like

  7. kyera says:

    You say alien robot and I think Transformers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally transformers!! Like Optimus Prime gone rogue! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Erin Eliza says:

    I just finished Illuminae and I’m totally going to look into Sleeping Giants now! Awesome post, I love finding new books and comparisons like this really help tip the scales for me to decide if I’ll actually be interested in a book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sleeping giants is so good. Even a few of my non science fiction loving friends have read and liked it. Hope you do too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s