If you like this then….. #7

Now that we’re nearing the end of the year, I’ve been reflecting on the books that I’ve read and loved this year. The two books that I’m recommending to you today are ones that I read in February of this year and loved them SO much that I haven’t stopped thinking about them!

caraval

First we have CARAVAL (click to see full review) by Stephanie Garber. If you were in the book community at all at the beginning of this year, I think it’s safe to say that this was a popular one in January of 2017. It was highly anticipated, sounded quite original, and the reviews were glowing. Naturally my curiosity got the best of me and I jumped in. I’m so glad that I did! This book was full of magic, mystery, intrigue, and adventure. This is also one of the few books that truly had me confused on who to trust! I would be utterly convinced that I knew what was going on only to have my every opinion overturned the very next chapter. In Caraval we meet two sisters, Scarlett and Tella, as they leave their abusive father to visit Caraval, a carnival that they recieved an invitation from the master himself! But upon arrival, Tella goes missing and Scarlett realizes that she’s far more personally invested into the game of Caraval. The sequel to this one is coming out in 2018 and I CAN NOT WAIT!

the-night-circus

And if you liked Caraval, I know for a fact that you will LOVE THE NIGHT CIRCUS (click for full review) by Erin Morganstern. When Caraval was first released, I heard many reviewers referring to it as the YA version of The Night Circus. In a way I agree with the comparison (obviously or else I wouldn’t be recommending them in the same post!) but at the same time, they are very different animals. I will get more into that later. This is an adult novel, following a circus that comes without warning, in the middle of the night, devoid of colour and full of wonder. The writing and atmosphere was STELLAR! I mean it’s beyond compare to anything I’ve ever read. There is a lot of magic, trust, games and more. I would give anything for one night at the Night Circus! I want to see the clocks, the tents, eat the popcorn, see the performances – I want it all!!

HERE’S WHAT THE TWO BOOKS HAVE IN COMMON:

  • Magic and fantastical elements – Both of these have very strong magical and fantastical elements, specifically The Night Circus. In The Night Circus, the two main characters possess powers, along with some other characters in the book. The main characters in Caraval don’t have any powers themselves but the fantastical elements are brought in when they get to Caraval.
  • Carnival settings. This is probably the strongest connection between the two, to be honest. The Night Circus is all about this travelling circus that comes without warning and is only open during the hours when the sun is down. Caraval takes place on an island that is the home of the carnival’s master
  • Themes of time. This isn’t a strong theme, but time is mentioned a few times throughout both. The use of this theme was well done and so interesting, giving everything urgency and perspective.
  • Unbalanced relationships with their father. This actually plays a HUGE part in the development of all the main characters. Scarlett and Tella run to Caraval to escape their mentally and physically abusive father. While in The Night Circus, the entire game that the main characters are playing were orchestrated by their fathers, to which their relationships are far from normal.
  • Games – an unclear game plan, unclear direction, and unsure of being able to trust you’re making the right decisions is the basic theme to both of these. In Caraval, the game is a little more structured while in The Night Circus, the game is used as a way to create intrigue and mystery.
  • Romance with people involved in the game.
  • Themes of trust and confusion. Knowing assistance is needed to move forward but  they’re not sure who can be trusted.

Arrow

As I’ve already mentioned, as much as these two have in common, they’re also very different. Caraval is a YA novel that focuses more on the carnival and the game. The main characters possess no magical powers and their purpose is to complete a mission while being surrounded by untrustworthy fantastical elements. The Night Circus, however, is an adult novel that deals with two characters who have magical powers who are really unsure of the game they’re playing. They are a part of this amazing carnival setting that brings the whole story together. Even though these books are different, I still have a feeling that if you liked one then you’ll like the other!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this series of posts you’re making! I’m a big fan of The Night Circus and because I’m constantly comparing it to Caraval, it ruined a bit of the fun reading the latter for me. But I gotta agree with you that these two books have many things in common yet two different stories are told.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here. I went into Caraval already in the mindset that they would be the same – not the case. And it started to ruin my enjoyment for Caraval. I just had to take a step back, stop comparing the two, and take Caraval for what it was. Then I enjoyed it so much more!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so impatient to get around to Night Circus. I’ve read great reviews and seen so many bloggers gush over it. Caravan as well. Gotta get to them!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kept putting off The Night Circus too. It’s a little long and I didn’t know that I had the time to dedicate to it. But, after reading the first chapter, I was so invested that I flew through it! I hope you can get around to these soon – they’re amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yaay. More encouragement 😄👍

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie says:

    Oh great post today, Shanah, and i love your recommendation as well! I have read and enjoyed Caraval and I keep hearing fantastic things about The Night Circus, I feel like I’m the only one who hasn’t read it just yet ahah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re definitely not the only one 🙂 but I bet you’ll love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Literary Lattes says:

    I read and loved Caraval earlier this year so will definitely have to read The Night Circus soon – I’ve seen so many people compare these two! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you love it when you get around to it! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I HAVENT READ EITHER. I reallly want to read Caraval it sounds SO magical and amazing. And my friend has The Night Circus so I need to borrow it off her soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved Caraval so much and have been on the hunt for another book like it. I’m definitely going to check out The Night Circus!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you do! It’s so wonderful! Enjoy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hannah says:

    I love your “If you like this…” series so much & this is another wonderful post! I adore the Night Circus and I’ve heard so much about Caraval. I definitely have to pick it up as soon as possible 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe thanks! ☺️ and I hope you do pick up Caraval. It wasn’t as beautifully written as the Night Circus, but the themes were wonderful and it was very vibrant and fantastical. Enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. kyera says:

    Yes, these two are fantastic recommendations! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhhhh that was supposed to be a 🙂……. my fingers are betraying me by clicking on the wrong emoji!! Lol

      Like

  9. Nia says:

    Oh, I’ve read both of these books and I agree with you, they have some things in common! I would say I preffer The Night Circus over Caraval (I feel the hype ruined it for me a bit), but still they were both great books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you 100%. If I was forced to choose, the Night Circus would be the winner.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s