If you like this then….. #6

I didn’t plan this post to happen so soon. But after finishing They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera, I couldn’t get something out of my head. Elements of the story reminded me of something else and it bothered me for days. Then, when it clicked, I literally yelled out loud “THAT’S IT!” and scared the crap out of my husband. The two books I’m recommending to you today aren’t really similar… but yet they are. The plots are very different, and the outcome is different, but there are some core elements that reminded me of the other. So here is my next “If you like this then…..” recommendation that drove me insane for days!

They Both Die At The End

First we have THEY BOTH DIE AT THE END by Adam Silvera. I finished this one just last week and it was so emotional it broke me for a while. We meet two boys, Rufus and Mateo, on the day that they receive their Death Cast alert. That alert means that they’re notified that this is their last day alive and, sometime within the next 24 hours, they will die. Both boys are so young and not ready, and they search for someone to spend their last day with to make it wonderful. Using the Last Friend app, the two of them come together and try to live every moment to its fullest.

the-sun-is-also-a-star

Next we have THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR by Nicola Yoon. This is one of the first books I reviewed on the blog and it’s stuck with me almost a year later. We meet Natasha on her last day in America. Her family originated from Jamaica and, after her father had a run in with the law, they are now being deported. Natasha doesn’t look forward to uprooting the life she now has in the US so she’s doing everything she can to stop the deportation. While on her way to keep her life the same, she meets a boy named Daniel. Daniel also knows something about immigrants as his parents came from Korea, but he himself was born in America. They both work together and form a relationship based on the fact that they’re not sure they really belong.

HERE’S WHAT THE TWO BOOKS HAVE IN COMMON:

  • Themes of a last day, though these themes were very different. One dealt with themes of a last day alive while the other was a last day in America.
  • Themes of loss. Both loss of self, loss of others, loss of a future, and loss of a place you call home.
  • Friendships formed in unusual and stressful situations. These friendships were quickly formed and based on truth and trust. The bonds that were quickly formed were beautiful and so raw.
  • Living your day to the fullest.
  • The thing that made me compare the two is this – both books included short chapters of seemingly unrelated characters. At first, you scratch your head and wonder why we are getting this random perspective that has nothing to do with the story. But in the end, these random chapters come together and show that the outcome of a day is influenced by forces larger than our personal bubble. These ‘side characters’ also have their own lives. They have their own struggles, worries, fears, and desires. But the things that happen to them can somehow impact others lives as well, for better or worse. Both of these books showed a picture of a life that was so much larger than taken at face value. Connections and consequences change and it was JUST SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

Arrow

As you can see, these two books aren’t really the same. But yet they are. It’s strange for me to explain! But I found that all the things I liked about one were present in the other. They both had themes of last days, friendships, and connections that were larger than just two people. Both of these were very emotional and dealt with trying to find yourself while you were running out of time to search. I hope that if you haven’t read one that you can find the same similar and wonderful things that I found with these two!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Marie says:

    Oh I love this – I didn’t imagine these two books to be similar in any way ahah, thank you for pointing that out. I haven’t read any of these, but… both are on my TBR, I can’t wait to read them and see if I find these little common points as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope you love them! They’re both so very different yet I couldn’t stop the comparison when it came to me

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth says:

    The “last day” thing is a really interesting connection! I tried to read The Sun is Also a Star not too long ago, but I just couldn’t get into it. Maybe I didn’t give it enough of a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not every book is something everyone will love. Maybe it’s just not meant for you and there’s nothing to feel bad about there! I do remember that it was a slow pick up for me as well and picked up quite a bit as it went along.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Thank you Shanah! I haven’t read these books so far but have heard wonders about them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Since I read TBDATE and.. TSIAAS is on my “want-to-buy”..
    Another extra reason to get my hands on it, ha! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kyera says:

    I really need to read both of these books, aaaahhh! But on the plus side, my hold for They Both Die At The End on audiobook just came in (but I have to finish my other audiobook from the library first, of course it came then two days later two other holds came).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I listened to the audiobook for They Both Die At The End and it was really great!!! The two main characters were read by different people which I absolutely loved. Hope you love it (and don’t cry too much!)

      Like

      1. kyera says:

        Oh gosh, yeah that would be terrible as I listen to audiobooks when I drive to work. Walk into the library looking like a crazy person, great way to lose your job.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. 😂 great way to lose your job or go up for mental evaluation!

          Liked by 1 person

  6. This is one of the best done If Then posts I’ve seen… I only do the meme rarely because it’s hard for me to come up with a pairing so I’m blown away by this one! Actually it makes me more interested in both books… great post Shanah ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe thanks! I was worried about this one because they’re very unrelated in plot. But I was hoping that people would see how the other related elements worked together 🙂

      Like

  7. The Other Weasley says:

    OK, ok. I am going to give Adam Silvera another chance because you said it’s worth it.
    The Sun is also a Star is one of the best YA contemporaries I’ve ever read so he has some big shoes to fill!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you’ll like this one. I know you didn’t like him before either but this is the first time I was able to connect with his characters on an emotional level 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s