I am the absolute WORST for buying books with the intention to “get to it soon”. Then I get distracted by other shiny beautiful books and I tell myself – “I’ll get to it next month”. Then a year rolls by and I’m still excited to read it but keep putting it off for some reason! The problem is that I’m a mood reader. As excited as I may be, if I’m not in the mood for it, there’s no way I can force myself to read it. So it’s very easy for me to plan to read things soon and then not be in the mood for it for a long time. Here are the books that I’ve been saying “I’ll get to it soon” about for the LONGEST time (in order from shortest to longest)…..

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in participating I would love to have you! Here is a list of my Upcoming Topics in November – please remember to ping back a specific post of mine so I get a notification and I will add you to the participants list!

Arrow

Mistborn trilogy

THE MISTBORN TRILOGY – SINCE 2014

Yell at me. Scream at me. Tell me I’m an idiot for allowing these books to sit on my shelf. I’m already sitting in the corner, thinking about what I did wrong. Did I mention i’ve also grounded myself? Yell at me – I’m ready…..

In early 2014 I fell down the YouTube hole. I basically watched every book tube video I could get my hands on and I noticed something. Almost every person had read this trilogy and raved about it! Like freak out, crazy obsessed over it. So of course I had to have it and find out what all the fuss was about……. yup…… sitting on my shelves for almost 4 years and I still don’t know why it’s so amazing! I know I’m going to love this series so WHY haven’t I gotten to it? Who knows! I have this on my TBR list for January so I’m making it happen soon!

Frog music

FROG MUSIC – SINCE 2014

I picked up Room by the same author on a whim the day it was released. I knew nothing about it when I walked into the book store but the cover was beautiful, the synopsis was fantastic and unique, and she is an author that lived less than 2 hours from me. I LOVED it so much that when her next book was released I bought it immediately. I started it almost right away too but, no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get into it. It just wasn’t the right time for me I guess. But I haven’t picked it up again since. Boo!

A thousand splendid suns

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS – SINCE 2008

The Kite Runner was a book that hit me way harder than expected. It sounded like an OK read but it was the writing that just blew me away. It was so beautiful and emotional and I wanted more! So I picked this one up hoping it would deliver the same punch……. but I wouldn’t know……. because I haven’t read it yet! Why? Couldn’t tell you! I’m sure the reason is that I got distracted by fantasy and wasn’t in the mood for something like this but seriously, this needs to happen! I’ve heard many people say it’s better than The Kite Runner. Soon – I hope!

Helter Skelter

HELTER SKELTER – SINCE 2006

Every once in a while I like true crime books. I love true crime TV too, but sometimes the books are just filled with so much more knowledge and detail. And there aren’t many murders that are more publicized than the Manson murders. I actually don’t know much about this “crew” of insane cult members and the crimes they committed so I thought this would educate me. Well it would…… if I ever read it! I think with this one it’s the size that scares me. Yup, I’m going with that excuse!

Brave new world

BRAVE NEW WORLD – SINCE 2000

Yes, you’re reading this right. I’ve had this book for SEVENTEEN YEARS and still haven’t read it! I read 1984 in high school as required reading and loved it so much that my teacher recommended this one to me. She even gave me a copy. But there it sits, sad and lonely on my shelf, unread. WHY? Really, why? The edition I have is less than 200 pages which makes it one of the shortest books I own. This is just embarrassing!

Arrow

TOP 5 TUESDAY PARTICIPANTS:

Arrow

So there are the top 5 books that have been sitting on my shelf unread for the longest time. I’m hoping that by telling the world that I haven’t read these that it will embarrass me enough to hold myself accountable to read them!! What books have been on your TBR shelf for the longest time?

Until next time, happy reading!

