We all have that friend – the one who doesn’t understand our obsession with books and we are always trying to convert them to read more. And we always have those people who would like to read more and look to us to see what they should be reading. These are the 5 books that I would suggest to those people! There were SOOOO many to choose from but I tried to separate them into the types of people who ask what they should be reading. I could have seriously made this 20+ books long, but, it’s a top 5 list…. come on now.

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in participating I would love to have you! Here is a list of my Upcoming Topics in September! – please remember to ping back a specific post of mine so I get a notification and I will add you to the participants list!

Arrow

The book thief

FOR THE EMOTIONAL READER:

For the person who likes hard hitting and emotional reads I would have to suggest The Book Thief. This is something that I think anyone can relate to! Yes it’s a super emotional story but there’s so much more to it. There’s history, family, childhood innocence, passion, right vs wrong, a unique narrator, acceptance, love, and so much more. It also helps that there’s a movie to direct them to once they’re done reading!

nevernight

FOR THE FANTASY LOVER:

Everyone loves a good vengeance story! Nevernight is super fast paced so there is never a single moment for the reader to get bored. This is also one of the most brutal and unforgiving novels I’ve ever read! It will give the new reader so much excitement and jaw dropping moments!

the seven husbands of evelyn hugo

FOR THOSE INTERESTED IN CHICK LIT:

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo was probably the most surprising read for me this year. I typically shy away from Hollywood drama stories and stories of marriages, but WOW!! This was such a complex and beautifully written story about a woman and her life and would appeal to so many people for so many reasons. It was really fast paced which also helps – I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough!

dark-matter

FOR THOSE WHO LOVE A GOOD MYSTERY:

I finished Dark Matter almost a year ago and not a week goes by that I don’t think about this book. This book had me downright obsessed and furiously turning pages to unravel this story as fast as possible. While I consider this one a mystery, it’s also in the science fiction genre so it appeals to many different tastes. I actually gave this one to two different people as a Christmas gift last year and both loved it as much as I did!

ready-player-one

TO THE GEEK/NERD FRIEND:

If you know someone that has even the slightest nerd/geek qualities, likes video games, or grew up in the 80’s, Ready Player One is another book that you NEED to recommend! I’ve never geeked out to a book so hard in all my life!! Video games, virtual realities, corporate intrigue, computer science, and so much more! Not to mention the fact that all of the games I played and movies I watched in the 80’s were mentioned and it was a total blast from the past! This is another one that has a movie coming out next year so they will have something to look forward to!

Arrow

TOP 5 TUESDAY PARTICIPANTS:

Arrow

As I said in the beginning, this list could have been a mile long. There are so many books that I wish I could get people to read ***ahem, dear husband*** and most of these I’ve actually give as gifts to people. What books would you recommend to the non readers in your life??

Until next time, happy reading!

