Happy Top 5 Tuesday everyone! This is part one of a two part series. These are the buzzwords that make me WANT to read a book. Next week I’ll be talking about the words that make me NOT WANT to read a book. I thought this was going to be an easy topic but, alas, it wasn’t! Actually it was way easier to think of words that make me want to stay away from a book. I still managed to make a list longer than 5 so I’ll try to narrow it down.

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in participating I would love to have you! Here is a list of my Upcoming Topics in August – please remember to ping back a specific post of mine so I get a notification and I will add you to the participants list!

Arrow

FRIENDSHIP

I absolutely adore a book that has strong friendship as a main focus. Books are usually so full of romance and sexual tension, so it’s nice to step away from that and focus on a friendship opposed to romance. I love that friendships are all about support, teamwork, bonding, humour, trust and more.

Books with fantastic friendships:

FOLKLORE

I can’t express in words how much I love anything to do with folklore!!! I love the ancient, old world feel of it all. Folklore usually includes ancient beings, creatures, suns and moons or gods, that are all spun in a beautiful or terrifying tale that makes you wonder if it was really real at one point. They’re all a story to caution society about something which usually includes right and wrongs, good and evil, and the consequences of the balance. If it has elements of folklore I’ll basically add it to my TBR immediately!

Books with fantastic folklore:

HEISTS

OOOOOooooohhh I love a good heist! So much planning is put into a heist. We’re typically let in on most of the plans but theres always a surprise element hiding within the pages that will catch us off guard. There’s always a vengeance or rebellion sub plot, prep work, escape routes and plan B’s for when things go wrong (as they always do at some point!) that are just so exciting to read!

Books with harrowing heists:

ASSASSINS

This is a more recently developed buzzword obsession. I’ve read a few assassin books over the last few years and loved every bit of each one! There’s just something about a vengeance story (maybe vengeance should have been a buzzword since I’ve mentioned it a few times now) that causes someone to take on the position of assassin. They learn how to fight and protect, lurking in the shadows waiting to pounce at the right moment, are always super stealthy (quiet, invisible, and undetectable), and murder in the most devious and messy of ways. I think the things that I like most about an assassin story is that they don’t just kill – they make sure their target is aware that they’re about to die and get put in their place before they meet their end.

Books with amazing assassins:

WORLD WAR II

Historical fiction is one of my favourite genres of all time. But within that genre, the hard hitting and emotional stories that come from World War II are what I love the most. This is a time of such terrible events and devastation. I love that even though these countries and the people were faced with so many obstacles and loss, they found a way to love and hope, and push through. These stories pretty much tear my heart into pieces, but it’s such an important part of history that needs to be remembered.

Wonderful World War II books:

Arrow

Added bonus:

There were a couple others that I wanted to add to this list as well – seriously narrowing it down to just 5 was so hard!! Basically anything that includes Space/Time travel, and character driven stories. Both of these are something that once it’s mentioned I will immediately read the synopsis, but not every situation will draw me into the story and make me want to read it. Both can be great or mediocre depending on the plot. But i’m usually interested all the same!

TOP 5 TUESDAY PARTICIPANTS:

What bookish words do you look for?

Until next time, happy reading!

