I’m totally cheating here and flying by the seat of my pants (by the way, where did this saying even come from? Did someone fly by the seat of their pants at one time? What are the logistics of this?). I saw another blogger do this last week and thought it was so cool, but I didn’t bookmark the page and couldn’t see if there were any rules. So I’m just going to be showing a book for each colour of the rainbow! Here we go!

pink

PINK – HERE WE ARE NOW BY JASMINE WARGA
This one isn’t yet released but I’m so excited to see more from this author. My Heart and Other Black Holes was such a good book! Taliah’s mother never admitted to her that she knew who her father was. But Tahlia knew his name was Julian Oliver, famed rock star of Staring into the Abyss. Out of nowhere he comes to their front door and asks if Tahlia would like to come with him to meet his father who is nearing the end of his life. She doesn’t want to betray her mother, but she also wants to meet her family. During their three day trip she learns things about her mothers past that shakes her core and Julian isn’t the father she thinks he is!

red

RED – DARK MATTER BY BLAKE CROUCH
Love this one! I read this one last year and still think about it a few times a week. Jason Dessen is abducted as he’s walking home and wakes up, strapped to a bed, and is greeted by a man who says “welcome back my friend.” He quickly realizes that the world he’s woken up in is not the same – his wife, his son was never born, and he’s a celebrated genius instead of a professor. This book follows Jason as he questions where and when he is, and if he can get his family life back. This one totally messed with my mind!

orange

ORANGE – ILLUMINAE BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND JAY KRISTOFF
This series has been a bit of an obsession of mine!! The format was enough to make me interested but the story line was what blew me away! It took quite a while to get into it but once it caught on I was ALL IN! In the year 2575 two mega corporations attack a small planet at the edge of the universe. Kady and Ezra are forced to evacuate on different ships to save their lives. But their fight has only just begun. A deadly plague has broken out and the AI system, which is set to protect, may actually be their enemy. Kady hacks the system to find the truth but the truth is possibly the most terrifying thing of all.

yellow

YELLOW – HOMEGOING BY YAA GYASI
I haven’t actually read this one but I’ve read some amazing reviews that tell me I should be reading it very soon!! This book follows two half sisters, Effia and Esi, as they are born and raised very differently. One marries an Englishman and lives in comfort, while the other is raised in a dungeon and is sold into slavery. This book follows the threads and generations of each sister, from the 18th century to present day, and the differences between them. From what I understand it’s told in a series of short stories basically, with each story being a different generation. Can’t wait to dive into this one!

green

GREEN – HOLD BACK THE STARS BY KATIE KHAN
This one was just so unique! The transitions from past and present were done flawlessly!! Carys and Max are trapped in the void of space with only 90 minutes of oxygen left. As they fall, they can’t help but hold on to each other and look back at the events that brought them to that moment. This one is a very emotional read that also has one of the most unique endings I’ve ever read!

 

 

blue

BLUE/INDIGO – SALT TO THE SEA BY RUTA SEPETYS
Ruta Sepetys is one of my all time favourite historical fiction authors! She knows how to bring things to light in an informative and sensitive way. Winter, 1945, four teenagers and four secrets. All born in different homelands and all running, struggling to survive. Inspired by a maritime tragedy, Ruta shows us what it is to have hope, perseverance, and grief.

 

 

purple

PURPLE – WAYFARER BY ALEXANDRA BRACKEN
This is a hard one for me to write anything about. First of all – I haven’t read it. Second – it’s a sequel. Third – I haven’t read the first book so I can’t even really explain that one! But after doing this I realized how little books there are out there that are purple! I have to say it’s not my favourite colour but, there needs to be more purple books!!

 

 

black

BLACK – A MONSTER CALLS BY PATRICK NESS
This book destroyed me! I didn’t know what to expect – I hadn’t seen any reviews, went into it blindly, and it started off really strange. The ending slayed my emotions! The monster shows up at midnight as they always do. But he was not the monster Conor expected. This monster was ancient, and wild, and wanted the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. He wanted the truth.

 

white

WHITE – BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY BY RUTA SEPETYS
It wasn’t my intention to include two Ruta Sepetys books (historical fiction must be strong in my mind right now) and although the title has the word grey in it, it’s one of the few mostly white covers I have. It’s 1941 and Lina is a normal girl with a normal family. Until one day she is take with her mother and brother, separated from her father, and taken on a dirty crowded train to a work camp. Lina finds solace in her art and takes a great risk sending a message to her father to let him know that they’re still alive. Spanning years and covering 6,500 miles, this is a heartbreaking story of survival and hope.

Arrow

rainbow books

This one was so much fun to do! I didn’t have time for the most artistic pictures in the world and the sun was working against me this morning!! I was considering doing this one again at a later date but I believe I’m already out of pink and purple options! What would your book rainbow look like??

Until next time, happy reading!

 

