NIMONA

Written by Noelle Stevenson

Published by Harper Collins, May 12, 2015

My star rating: 4.5 stars

THE SYNOPSIS:

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are. But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit. (Goodreads)

spoiler free graphic

MY REVIEW:

I’ve been wanting to reread this one for two years and I finally had a reason! Like I really needed a reason to reread….. let me word that differently…… I finally had the motivation! There, that’s better! I'm a shark.jpg

Seriously, “I’m a shark!” gets me every time! After I read this one two years ago I immediately gave it to my daughter to read and now this is our little inside joke. Every time one of us looks at the spine of this book or someone says the word shark, this is what we say to each other.

I’m so glad that I decided to reread this one because I loved it even more the second time around!! Nimona is such an adorable and hilarious character! She seems so young and innocent but then here she comes, out of nowhere, asking to be the squire of a villain, excited over killing and explosions…… oh! And did I mention she is a shapeshifter? She quickly wins the heart of Lord Ballister Blackheart and together they work against his arch nemesis, Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin (I mean that name, really! I totally snort laughed at that name!!). But the relationship between Blackheart and Goldenloin is a bit more complicated than it seems.

I loved that this book explores unexpected relationships and the grey lines between good and evil. Some people are listed as the hero, while others are the villain, but the titles don’t necessarily define the person behind them. This is honestly a trope that I can’t get enough of! I also loved the mystery behind Nimona’s shapeshifting abilities. As I’ve said, she shows up out of nowhere offering up her services and reveals this wonderful trick where she can turn into any living thing she wants to but there’s no telling us how she got the power to do such things.

This was such a crazy, cute, funny, emotional, action packed graphic novel that was just such a joy to experience all over again!

Until next time, happy reading!

