DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT

Written by Laini Taylor

Published by Little Brown, November 6, 2012

My star rating: 3.25 stars

THE SYNOPSIS:

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.
In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.
While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.
But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream? (Goodreads)

spoiler free graphic

MY REVIEW:

I wanted so badly to love this one! I finished Daughter of Smoke and Bone last week and fell in love. The characters were bad ass, feisty and downright amazing. But it was the plot and story itself that was just so beautiful and ingenious! Resurrections, angels, humans, forbidden love, friendship – it had so many things going for it! But this book didn’t hit the mark for me. It wasn’t bad!! Not by any means! Let me explain…

First of all, these characters are my crew! Karou and Zuzana are probably my favourite female characters ever!! Especially Zuzana. Her smart mouth, zesty come backs, quick wit, and passion are like a magnet! Love her to pieces! But with Karou I feel like she fell a little flat in this one. In Daughter of Smoke and Bone she was so feisty and strong, but in this book she fell into herself and got lost a little bit. I get that she would be a little lost and confused given her situation. Fear and uncertainty would be easy to take over your senses. But I know that she has it in her! She was a soldier for god sakes! I was waiting (and waiting) for her to stand up for herself, get assertive, and regain her strength – but it never happened. I do have hopes for book three that this will happen. She has so much potential!!! Just let it shine through Karou! Side note – Zuzana needs her own book! I would be all over that!

What I also really enjoyed was learning more about the Seraphim and Akiva’s life. I also enjoyed the fact that both sides were fed up with this war and were trying to figure out how to finally end it. Not knowing who to trust and even where to begin. Both sides know they need to start somewhere but wonder if baby steps would take too long.

And the setting was just fantastic! Book one was in beautiful Prague and now we are in Morocco. If anything, this series has taken me places!

The main problem I had with this book was the pace. The first and last 100 pages were really great! But the entire middle had me bored and wondering when it was going to end. It felt like it was just repetition of the same thing in slightly different situations. I wish that it would have been condensed a little bit. Another thing that I had a hard time with was all the J names on the Seraphim side! I had such a hard time understanding who was who and keeping them straight. I know that part of that problem was the fact that I was a little bored through the middle which made it harder for me to focus.

This review is a short one but my disinterest mixed with not wanting to spoil anything makes it hard for me to come up with a lot to say. I do plan on continuing with this series. I love the characters, the setting, and the plot. I need to know how this story comes to a close. I just hope that the pace picks up. Laini Taylor’s writing is just so glorious!

Until next time, happy reading!

