I was so excited about these books that I may have totally cried! One of them I honestly don’t know that my patience was strong enough to hold out until the end of September, and the other one holds a very special place in my heart. So thanks a million to The Hachette Book Group Canada and Little Brown for these GORGEOUS copies!!! I sometimes wish that I could properly convey my gratitude to the publishers for sending me these books. Thank you sounds so underwhelming in relation to how honoured, happy and excited I am! Before I continue on the sappy and emotional train, how about I just show you the books?!

Drumroll please……..

……………………….

invictus:fireblood ARC

So, Invictus – where do I even begin? Ryan Graudin is one of my favourite authors of all time and she is a very unique voice within the historical fiction genre. No other historical fiction novel is quite like hers. Her writing is just beautiful (especially in The Walled City) and very descriptive in a way that envelops you completely. It’s not done in an info dumping way – you crave more and more! Her characters are so well developed, and the pace of her books is steady. When I heard that Invictus was about time travel, Gladiators, and a heist on the Titanic – I couldn’t contain my excitement!! That’s basically everything I’ve wanted thrown into a single book!! Here’s a quick synopsis:

Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far’s birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he’s ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past. 
But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far’s very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems. (Goodreads)

The Walled City is also the very first book I ever reviewed on the blog! You can find that here

And now, Fireblood. This is a series that will forever hold a place in my heart! A few weeks into starting this blog I went to my first ever book event. It was a signing for Stephanie Garber (Caraval) and Elly Blake (Frostblood). Both women are specular people and getting to hear some behind the scenes information made me love their books even more! At the event I also found out that Elly lives less than an hour away from me! (No I haven’t stalked her, you can check police records!) So when book 2 of the series came out I crossed my fingers that she would have an event in her home town – and she is! So on September 16th I will be going to the release party in Windsor Ontario. My mom might even come with me to experience her first book event! I would put a synopsis to this but since this is book 2 in a series I don’t want to spoil anything. I do have a review and synopsis of Frostblood that you can check out here if you’re interested in the series! Also, if you live in the Ontario or Michigan area and are planning on attending this event, PLEASE let me know! I would love to meet you!

Until next time, happy reading!

