Well, I created this meme a couple months ago and I’ve been my own worst enemy with it! My goal was to keep up with it on a weekly basis but things keep getting in the way. And I sometimes miss doing a monthly TBR. I’m still not sure I’m feeling this 100%. Not to mention I’m running out of YA contemporary books to list lol!! But I’m giving it another shot.

This week though, I’m going with a theme of books I found because of BookTube and still haven’t read! I can feel the shame already!

THE RULES:

  • Have a set list of genres that you typically read
  • List one book for each genre that you want to read
  • Give a quick description of the book
  • Fall in love, read, and repeat!
  • If you want to participate in TBR Thursday please link one of my TBR Thursday posts – it would be greatly appreciated! Feel free to use the blog graphic as well. Just adjust the genres to the types of books you enjoy.

Arrow

FANTASY

Mistborn trilogy

MISTBORN by Brandon Sanderson
Yes, that’s right, I have never read the Mistborn Series!! If you prefer that I now go hide my head in shame, I won’t blame you!! When I started following book blogs and watching BookTube a few years ago, this was basically considered required reading. And all the reviews were stellar! Yet there they sit, on my shelves, unread and unloved. This fall/winter it WILL happen! The magic system sounds too incredible to miss!

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?
In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage — Allomancy, a magic of the metals. (Goodreads)

SCIENCE FICTION

The first fifteen lives of Harry August.jpg

THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST by Claire North
This is kind of an underrated one to mention. I don’t see it much, but when I do they rave about it and can’t seem to get enough! The premise is so unique! I read The End of the Day by Claire North a few months ago and really liked it. I had a few issues with it but her writing style was so wonderful. Her ideas are always so incredible (check out The Sudden Disappearance of Hope to get another example!) and something you’ve never seen before.

No matter what he does or the decisions he makes, when death comes, Harry always returns to where he began, a child with all the knowledge of a life he has already lived a dozen times before. Nothing ever changes. Until now.
As Harry nears the end of his eleventh life, a little girl appears at his bedside. ‘I nearly missed you, Doctor August,’ she says. ‘I need to send a message.’ This is the story of what Harry does next, and what he did before, and how he tries to save a past he cannot change and a future he cannot allow. (Goodreads)

HISTORICAL FICTION

vengeance-road

VENGEANCE ROAD by Erin Bowman
I never would have even heard about this one if it wasn’t for Regan of the Peruse Project! I remember seeing in one of her book hauls and flipping out at the beauty of that book cover!! I’ve never read a Western before, but I’m willing to give anything a try. This cover will probably forever remain in my top 5 favourites!

Revenge is worth its weight in gold.
When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal. (Goodreads)

YA CONTEMPORARY

Eliza and her monsters.jpg

ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS by Francesca Zappia
This cover is gorgeous, but it wasn’t enough to sell me on the book. It seemed from the summary that I would either love it or hate it, so I waited to see what the reviews were like before I decided to pick it up. Literally every blog review I’ve seen has been 5 stars! Every. Single. One. So you’ve convinced me – it’s on my shelf!

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.
Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. (Goodreads)

ADULT FICTION

The storied life of AJ Fikry.jpg

THE STORIED LIFE OF A.J. FIKRY
Yet another one that seemed to be required reading! As soon as I found out that this was about someone who owned a book store, I knew it was going to be a good read. Let’s just admit it, book lovers are cool! This is a really short one so I’m not sure why I haven’t picked it up yet. But I’m still super excited about it!

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over–and see everything anew. (Goodreads)

THRILLER/MYSTERY

Marina.jpg

MARINA by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
I am SOOOO excited about this one! Carlos Ruiz Zafon is an author I never would have heard of it wasn’t for Book Tube. I happened to see this in a book store (on SALE!) and couldn’t leave without it. First of all the cover is beautiful, but it’s also a Gothic story (YES!!), but there’s painters, cemeteries, a woman shrouded in a black cloak, and an adventure underneath of Barcelona…… count me interested! Saving this one for October 🙂

In May 1980, fifteen-year-old Oscar Drai suddenly vanishes from his barding school in Barcelona. For seven days and seven nights no one knows his whereabouts…
His story begins in an old quarter of the city, where he meets the strange Marina and her father, Germán Blau, a portrait painter. Marina takes Oscar to a cemetery to watch a macabre ritual that occurs on the last Sunday of each month. At exactly ten o’clock in the morning, a coach pulled by black horses appears. From it descends a woman, her face shrouded be a black velvet cloak. Holding a single rose, she walks to a gravestone that bears no name, only a mysterious emblem of a black butterfly with open wings.
When Oscar and Marina decide to follow her, they begin a journey that transports them to a forgotten, postwar Barcelona–a world of aristocrats and actresses, inventors and tycoons–and reveals a dark secret that lies waiting in the mysterious labyrinth beneath the city streets. (Goodreads)

Arrow

So there’s yet another list of books sitting on my shelf that I desperately need to find the time to read! Have you read any of these? What’s on your selves?

Until next time, happy reading!!

