I had nothing planned for today and was FINALLY going to get to a book tag! I rarely get the chance to do them anymore. But then I went to the book store yesterday…….. BIG MISTAKE!!! As I was walking down the aisle I happened to look down at the lowest shelf. Stuck in the corner was a fantastic spine. There was rainbow stripes, a retro type font, and it looked distressed, like it had been read 100 times already. And I thought – What is a used book doing in here?? So, naturally curious, I picked it up…

MBFE spine

And then I was assaulted with the cover. My first thought was “This is the worst book cover ever! What’s going on with the hair, and the glowing red eyes, and……” When all the details came into place, my immediate thoughts flew right out the window and my heart started beating faster – THIS COVER IS PURE GENIUS!!!! The ominous full moon looming in the background, the cross suspended in the air upside down, the kids on roller-skates holding onto balloons, the monstrous shadow spreading across the grass – there’s just so much!!! But it was the graphics that look like stickers that grabbed my attention the most.  “Be kind, please rewind” was the story of my childhood!! Yes, i’m old enough that VHS tapes ruled my world, and the worst thing EVER was putting a movie in the VCR and the first thing you see is the credits rolling!! And the green “Novel” circle sticker made me totally laugh. My school library had those stickers and many others. Yellow ones, red ones, blue ones, all depicting what type of book it was. And all of the font reminded me of the 80’s as well. I went from being disgusted by this cover to being completely obsessed in the span of about 3 seconds!

MBFE cover

ISN’T IT SO FANTASTIC?!?!?!?!!?

I flipped the book over to read the synopsis and I literally gasped. Cheesy 80’s slasher film vibes galore!! Girl running away from scary man (who never seems to really be able to run all that fast. Not to mention she will run inside and try to hide upstairs) and two girls innocently splashing in the lake (while their would be murderer watches them from the cover of the woods breathing heavily).

MBFE back

Let me be completely honest, I was so excited about the front and back covers that I forgot to read the synopsis and just walked right towards the cash register. So let’s learn what this book is about together, shall we?

A heartwarming story of friendship and demonic possession. The year is 1988. High school sophomores Abby and Gretchen have been best friends since fourth grade. But after an evening of skinny-dipping goes disastrously wrong, Gretchen begins to act…different. She’s moody. She’s irritable. And bizarre incidents keep happening whenever she’s nearby. Abby’s investigation leads her to some startling discoveries–and by the time their story reaches its terrifying conclusion, the fate of Abby and Gretchen will be determined by a single question: Is their friendship powerful enough to beat the devil? Like an unholy hybrid of Beaches and The Exorcist, My Best Friend’s Exorcismblends teen angst, adolescent drama, unspeakable horrors, and a mix of ’80s pop songs into a pulse-pounding supernatural thriller. (Goodreads)

As it turns out, this book is written by the same author of the wildly popular Horrorstor which I still haven’t read. And this book is explained as being a hybrid of “Beaches” and “The Exorcist”???? LOL!! They are total polar opposites and that intrigues me even more! And 80’s pop music is involved?? I may faint………… seriously this is all too much!!!

I was planning to marathon the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series but I may not be able to wait to read this one. I hope to get to it ASAP!!

Have any of you read this one?? I’m totally freaking out!

Until next time, happy reading!

