Happy Top 5 Tuesday everyone! I hope you’re all having a great week so far ๐Ÿ™‚ When I first came up with this topic to cover as a top 5 list, I thought to myself “Can I even think of 5 villains? This is going to be so hard!” Wrong. I was so wrong! I went through my books and made a rough list of the villains that came to mind and I came up with almost 20……. yup, I would say I can come up with 5! Since I have so many I’m actually going to be covering 10 this week! Some of these villains I hate with a passion, while others are just so impressive with their evilness (is that even a word? I’m making it one if it’s not) that you can’t help but love to hate them!

Top 5ย Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in doing my topic on your blog feel free! Here is a list of myย upcoming topicsย for July if youโ€™re interested in participating in future topics!

Top 5 Tuesday

Before I go into my list, I wanted to take a look at the definition of the word villain. Before I looked at the definition I wondered who could really be a villain. I was thinking back to comics where there was always an evil nemesis plotting to take over the world. But, by definition, they are NOT the only villains!

1 – a cruelly malicious person who is involved in or devoted to wickedness or crime; scoundrel

2 – a character in a play, novel, or the like, who constitutes an important evil agency in the plot

So, after this definition, the list of characters just kept growing! Here are my top 5 villains!

order of the phoenix

When you associate Harry Potter with the word villain, your mind might immediately go to Lord Voldemort. Well, not for me! He may be terrifying and powerful, but Delores Umbridge wins out on the evil meter for me! What an awful woman!!! I think it’s the fact that she smiles and acts so sweetly as she attempts to squash everyone around her that terrifies me! And her closeness to the Ministry, allowing her to easily make the necessary changes to rule Hogwarts, makes her a total wolf in sheep’s clothing. She is just SO EVIL!!

Cersei Lannister

Remember how I said that there are some that are just so perfectly evil that you can’t help but be impressed by them? Yup, well, look no further than Cersei Lannister! This woman is an expert at saving her own ass! She is willing to do anything to get what she wants and knows the perfect channels to do it. It’s her smarts when it comes to her schemes that makes her so impressive. She makes it look as though she’s losing when really she’s been 50 steps ahead of you the whole time and you just didn’t know it! I want to hate her. The things she does is awful! But I just can’t help but LOVE to hate her!

winter

Queen Levana!!! Oh so evil! The things she does to her own people on the moon, the wolf army she creates, the lengths she would go to obtain power, and the ability to make herself appear harmless to the people of earth is just terrifying! Finding out her whole story made me feel a little bad for her though. But in the end she had a choice, and she obviously chose the wrong one!

you

If you haven’t read You by Caroline Kepnes yet, then let me explain. This is a book told from the perspective of a stalker/serial killer. Being inside the head of Joe Goldberg was the strangest experience I’ve ever had in a book – I was so conflicted! You go through his daily life as he stalks a young woman, killing people who get in his way. Throughout the story, you get his entire thought process, and actually find yourself relating and rooting for the guy! I would catch myself feeling bad for him and literally want to slap myself silly. He has the ability to be a chameleon, making himself seem normal, caring, compassionate, energetic, and happy. But on the inside he’s a terrifying monster who can easily justify his actions. Joe is without a doubt one of the creepiest perspectives I’ve ever read!

An ember in the ashes

Theย Commandant (Keris Veturia)ย is the epitome of evil! She is absolutely brutal, savage, with no conscience to speak of. The world that she’s had a hand in creating and leading is barbaric to say the least. This series isn’t over so we don’t have a complete picture of her personality and motivations, but she reminds me of a more merciless version of Cersei Lannister. She doesn’t even think twice to attempt to kill her own child! And just like Cersei, she’s always many steps ahead, predicting movements, and saving her own skin. This woman better get whats coming to her – and I hope its awful!

Arrow

That would be my main top 5, but I feel like I should add a few of the others that made my list as “honourable mentions”.

DOCTOR GEYER FROM WOLF BY WOLF –ย His test subjects were the people held in concentration camps. Free test subjects to work on a serum that gives a person the ability to shape shift. In human monster!

AMBROSE FROM THE NAME OF THE WIND –ย arch nemesis to Kvote, this spoiled brat and excuse for a human being attempts (and is quite successful most of the time, actually) to drag Kvothe’s name through the mud all because of jealousy. I’m half way through Wise Man’s Fear and he still hasn’t been put in his place. When that day happens, I will smile so big it will hurt!

VERNON LOCHAN (LORD OF PERRANTH) FROM THRONE OF GLASS –ย I won’t say exactly why I hate the guy as pretty much everything I say will be a spoiler. If you’ve read this series you will agree. If you haven’t read it yet, you’ll understand as the series moves along! Just trust me, he belongs on this list!

PRESIDENT SNOW FROM THE HUNGER GAMES –ย Yet another one that I don’t want to get into too much. But i’m pretty sure that most people have either read the books or seen the movies so I’m sure that no explanation is necessary!!

Arrow

TOP 5 TUESDAY PARTICIPANTS:

I hope you enjoyed this list! Who would be on your top 5 villains list?

Until next time, happy reading!!

