HAPPY FATHERS DAY WEEKEND!!

I hope that you’re all enjoying your weekend! I’m unfortunately not spending the weekend with my dad but we plan to make up for it later on this week. BUT! I am spending the weekend in Toronto with my kids, husband, his brother and his parents. So at least I have one father with me! We are planning on hitting up some fantastic restaurants, a Toronto Blue Jays game, and the Ripley’s Aquarium. I’ll try and keep up with your comments this weekend but I won’t be able to blog hop and may miss some of your posts! I can’t wait to post some pics of our weekend!

And since I can’t be with my dad this weekend I thought I would make him my feature picture 🙂 I’ve always been a proud daddy’s girl! He’s there for me no matter what and taught me so many things. He’s my strength, my hero and my everything. He’s probably the most well loved person I’ve ever known, and I’m not just saying that because he’s my dad! Seriously everyone knows him. He’s willing to do anything for anyone and always has a smile on his face. He’s been a firefighter since I was little and is now a Captain. So he’s not only my hero but everyone else’s! Happy Fathers Day!!!

Now on to some of my favourite dads in books!

Arrow

The book thief

Hans Hubermann in The Book Thief stole my heart. He was just so great! Liesel showed up scared and confused and he found every way imaginable to make her comfortable. He took her curiosity and desire to learn and ran with it. Not only did he nurture her, but he was a father to their guest as well. He risked his own life on many occasions to protect those he loved. To this day he’s my favourite character in both the book and the movie. He makes my heart want to burst!!

The hate you give

Big Mav – as much as I loved Starr Carter as a character, it was her parents that made this book really stand out. The relationship that Starr had with her father was outstanding. Being in the situation they all were, it would be easy to make the wrong choices. But he stood his ground making it clear that you don’t right a wrong with another wrong. He was there to support his family and his neighbourhood through all the tough times. He worked hard to support his family with his business, and worked even harder to keep the peace from all sides. He was always calm at the right times, forceful when need be, and strong ALL the time. Such a beautiful man!

harry-potter

Arthur Weasley, Albus Dumbledore, and Hagrid weren’t technically Harry’s father, but they were father figures to him. They filled in when Harry needed them most in his life when, sadly, his own father wasn’t there. Mr Weasley was obviously a father to his army of children which was interesting at times. His head was in the clouds and in so many directions (sometimes acting like a kid himself) – but then he is a Weasley after all!

the-sun-is-also-a-star

Samuel from The Sun is Also a Star. Sure, he made mistakes, but the way this book was written was so interesting. We got perspectives from both him and Natasha and when it all came together in the end my heart felt like mush. As a parent myself I understood where he was coming from. It was just so heartbreaking! He was full of so much emotion and so many wishes. I couldn’t help but love him!

The obsession

The Uncles from The Obsession. Obviously her real father was an awful human, but being raised by these AMAZING men made up for it in spades! Seth and his husband were so smart, supportive, loving, sweet – just EVERYTHING!! I would love to have a book all about these two and their story.

Arrow

So there’s a small list of the fathers in books that I adore. There are so many others that I could mention but then this post would be super long! Enjoy your weekend and hug your daddy’s!

Until next time, happy reading!

