I’m so excited to finally be coming to you with my new blog feature! This is something that I’ve thrown around for a while now but never got around to putting it into practice. With summer just around the corner, I realized that this was the perfect time.

As I said in a previous post, I don’t have a TBR (To Be Read) “pile” – it is, in fact, a TBR “mountain”! There are just so many books that I want to get to and don’t have the time (or speed reading super powers) to get to them all. So the goal with the TBR Thursday feature is to take a step back and look at the books that I want to read. When shiny new releases come out all others get pushed to the back burner. With this feature, I’m hoping that I can remind myself exactly why I wanted to read it and get a little more excited to read it. Who knows – maybe you’ve read this book and would like to tell me that I need to read it ASAP. Or maybe you haven’t heard of this book yet and it might remind you that you yourself need to pick it up! I hope this feature is interesting all the same!

THE RULES:

  • Have a set list of genres that you typically read
  • List one book for each genre that you want to read
  • Give a quick description of the book
  • Fall in love, read, and repeat!
  • If you want to participate in TBR Thursday please link one of my TBR Thursday posts – it would be greatly appreciated! Feel free to use the blog graphic as well. Just adjust the genres to the types of books you enjoy.

HERE WE GO!!

Arrow

FANTASY

nevernight

NEVER NIGHT by Jay Kristoff – I’ve read the Illuminae Files series that was cowritten by Jay Kristoff and Aimee Kaughman and absolutely loved it! Yet I still haven’t read a book written by Jay Kristoff himself. So I’m hoping to fix this soon.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is alone and friendless, hiding in a city built from the bones of a dead god, and hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined. Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

SCIENCE FICTION

Red rising.jpg

RED RISING by Pierce Brown – I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book/series! In fact, I have a friend who has threatened physical harm if I didn’t read this book soon!

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class. Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.

HISTORICAL FICTION

The nightengale.jpg

THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah – When this book came out everyone seemed to be talking about it. Even those who don’t typically like or read historical fiction. For a book to impact those who aren’t even a fan of of the genre, I knew that I was going to be one I had to read. Sadly I haven’t gotten to it yet! This one also explores the dynamic of a sisterhood – being an only child I’m so interested to read about this connection, especially in such a horrific time in history.

Despite their differences, sisters Vianne and Isabelle have always been close. Younger, bolder Isabelle lives in Paris while Vianne is content with life in the French countryside with her husband Antoine and their daughter. But when the Second World War strikes, Antoine is sent off to fight and Vianne finds herself isolated so Isabelle is sent by their father to help her. As the war progresses, the sisters’ relationship and strength are tested. With life changing in unbelievably horrific ways, Vianne and Isabelle will find themselves facing frightening situations and responding in ways they never thought possible as bravery and resistance take different forms in each of their actions.

YA CONTEMPORARY

The serpent king

THE SERPENT KING by Jeff Zentner – I got this book in an Owlcrate subscription box many months ago and wasn’t really convinced this was one I would enjoy. It mentioned religion and that’s not something that I normally read. But, in the last few months, I’ve seen quite a few reviews that have convinced me that this may be something I would love after all!

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace. The only antidote to all this venom is his friendship with fellow outcasts Travis and Lydia. But as they are starting their senior year, Dill feels the coils of his future tightening around him. Dill’s only escapes are his music and his secret feelings for Lydia, neither of which he is brave enough to share. Graduation feels more like an ending to Dill than a beginning. But even before then, he must cope with another ending- one that will rock his life to the core.

ADULT FICTION

My sunshine away.jpg

MY SUNSHINE AWAY by M.O. Walsh – I’m not even sure how I stumbled across this one. I believe it was the cover that drew me in (which is seriously gorgeous!) and then as soon as I read the synopsis I was hooked! This one seems like a shorter read but no matter the size it sounds like something that will pack a serious punch!

Set in a Baton Rouge neighbourhood (best known for its cookouts, crawfish boils, and football fandom) in 1989, fifteen year old Lindy Simpson experiences a horrible crime. Suddenly everyone realizes that this idyllic stretch of Southern suburbia has a dark side. In My Sunshine Away, M.O. Walsh brilliantly juxtaposes the enchantment of a charmed childhood with the gripping story of a violent crime, unraveling families, and consuming adolescent love. Acutely wise and deeply honest, it is an astonishing and page-turning debut about the meaning of family, the power of memory, and our ability to forgive.

THRILLER/MYSTERY

hidden-bodies

HIDDEN BODIES by Caroline Kepnes – This is book 2 in the You series. I read You last year and was quite creeped out for many reasons!! The point of view is from a stalker/murderer as he goes about his daily life. Being inside the head of a madman as he hunts this woman and justifies his insane actions was SO well done!! I have wanted to continue with this series for a while but I feel like I really need to be in the right headspace to appreciate this narrative!

Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him. In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: true love. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice…

Arrow

So there it is! My first TBR Thursday list! I had a lot of fun going through my shelves and finding books from a specific genre that I’m really interested in.

Did you enjoy this feature? Have any suggestions on how to make it better? I haven’t decided if this feature will be permanent, but I’m enjoying it while it lasts!

Until next time, happy reading!

