The warm weather is finally here!! Last week here in Southern Ontario we reached temps in the high 80’s and we even opened our pool! Unfortunately, during a major wind storm, our neighbours dead tree punctured holes in our pool cover and all the dirty water went into the pool. Luckily it’s not nearly as bad as we expected and I can have it cleaned up quick and easy! Bonus side of that – I didn’t have to fill the pool! LOL

So summer is a strange reading time for me. I’m SO busy with work, the kids, the blog, and just summer activities in general, that I don’t really have a ton of time to read. It’s hard for me to get into books with a really deep and complicated story line because I never know if I have the time to dedicate to it. So when the sun comes out in full force I try to pick some light, fast paced and smaller sized books that I know I can keep up with or pick up where I left off. So with that in mind, I’ve put together this list of books that I plan to get to this summer!

Arrow

When Dimple met Rishi

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sandhya Menon –  I just got the notification that this one is in the mail and should be here at the beginning of next week! I’m absolutely fascinated by the Indian culture and the idea of arranged marriage so I can’t wait to get into this! Dimple had it all figured out. She recently graduated and is on her way to a specialized summer program for web programers, which just so happens to be far away from her mother and her reminders that she needs to find a good Indian husband. Rishi is a hopeless romantic who believes in the tradition of arranged marriages. So when his parents mention that his future wife will be attending the same program and suggest that he woo her, he’s all for it. They meet and think they’ve got each other figured out but, when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

The unexpected everything

THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING by Morgan Matson – I read another one of her books (Since You’ve Been Gone) last summer and it was the perfect summertime read. I felt a little bit too old for it but at the same time it reminded me a lot of myself when I was that age. In this book Andie, the daughter of a politician, has it all. She’s got money, friends, guys, an internship, and a future. But that was before the scandal. Before she had to be in the same house with her dad. And before she had to walk an insane amount of dogs. The thing with having your whole life planned out is you never find the unexpected and where the fun in that??

The Unlikelies

THE UNLIKELIES by Carrie Firestone – I received an early copy of this from Little Brown and it will be released in June. Sadie is expecting a boring summer, but when a video of her rescuing a baby goes viral. Suddenly “internet famous” she finds herself in the unlikely company of four other “hometown heroes” where they team up against bullying and take down drug rings. But can they make it through the summer with their friendship and anonymity intact?

The Firebird series

THE FIREBIRD SERIES by Claudia Gray – I’m SOOOOO excited for this series! You can’t go wrong with a little time and dimension travel in the summer! Marguerite’s parents are well knows for their invention, called the Firebird, which allows the user to jump into multiple universes. But then her father is murdered by his assistant Paul, and jumps into another dimension before the law can touch him. Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.

Hold back the stars 1

HOLD BACK THE STARS by Katie Khan – And to continue my current obsession with anything Sci-Fi, we have this book (which has also been shipped and will be delivered next week!!) A man and a woman revisit memories of their love affair on a utopian Earth while they are trapped in the vast void of space with only ninety minutes of oxygen left. After the catastrophic destruction of the Middle East and the United States, Europe has become a utopia and, every three years, the European population must rotate into different multicultural communities, living as individuals responsible for their own actions. While living in this paradise, Max meets Carys and immediately feels a spark of attraction. He quickly realizes, however, that Carys is someone he might want to stay with long-term, which is impossible in this new world. As their relationship plays out, the connections between their time on Earth and their present dilemma in space become clear. When their air ticks dangerously low, one is offered the chance of salvation—but who will take it?

The obsession.jpg

THE OBSESSION by Nora Roberts – I don’t know what it is with Nora Roberts books but they scream summer! I love her books. The ease of the characters and the story, and her writing just flows. It’s been a minute or two since I’ve read anything by her so it’s time I get back into it! This one is SUPER exciting though! My bookish sister Robin (The Other Weasley over on Books Amino) plan to buddy read a book every month a do a dual review. This one will be our first and I’m so excited to get into it! I just picked this one up today so I’m not even sure what it’s about. But it’s Nora Roberts so I’m sure it will be interesting. So keep a look out for our first dual review which will hopefully be coming in June!

Outlander

OUTLANDER by Diana Gabaldon – I’ve technically already started this one but let’s all admit it – this thing is huge! If I finish it this summer I’ll be a happy bookworm. I’m pretty sure I’m the last book lover who still hasn’t read this one or seen the show so I can skip the synopsis. I’m about 100 pages into it and i’m not hooked yet, but I’ve been assured that the obsession with a certain Scot named Jamie will begin momentarily.

Arrow

So there’s my summertime reading list! There are a few more that I could have added to this list but I don’t want to set too much in stone. The list can always change depending on my mood and time available to read. While we’re on the subject of lists – I would love my fellow bloggers thoughts and opinions. With the chaos of summer I want to make blogging a little easier on myself. I will still be doing my top 5 Tuesday, book reviews, and my weekly wrap up. But I was trying to think of something else that was easy to put together and was still interesting and helpful to other readers/bloggers. So my thought is…………

TBR THURSDAY!

How does it work you ask? Well, it’s simple! Instead of doing a monthly TBR that I never seem to stick to, I was thinking of doing a weekly list (meme if you will) that would highlight some of the books that I want to read. Each week I would have a set list of genres (historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi, contemporary, mystery, etc) and then I will list one book within that genre and give a description. If you’re anything like me (and I know you are – don’t deny it!) your TBR pile isn’t a pile. It’s more like a TBR mountain! So many books that I still need to read and so little time to get to them! I think it would be fun to spread the love between genres and highlight some of the books that I plan to get to one day. Would this be a blog feature you would find interesting? Do you have any suggestions? Lists are my obsession and this will only fuel my fire!!

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend and you have a little sunshine yourself!

Until next time, happy reading!!

