BOOKS I FINISHED THIS WEEK

Well it wasn’t the most productive reading week every but it was one of the most satisfying!! I only finished two books this week. One of them was a reread of A Court of Mist and Fury and let me say that it was even more amazing the second time around! Feyre and Rhysand (ok ESPECIALLY Rhysand!) will forever remain some of my favourite characters written in a book! The writing and the large cast of characters is just amazing!!!!

I also finished my most highly anticipated release of 2017!!

A Court of Wings and Ruin <—– (full review) It was our first finale from the master Sarah J Maas and I loved it!! It wasn’t perfect by any means but I’m almost completely satisfied. I have some thoughts about the characters and the way some things ended, but we are getting more from this world in a spin off series so I’m hoping that all my questions are answered there. I’m thinking of doing a spoilery discussion later on but I wanted to wait and let people have the chance to finish it. If you’re interested in a spoiler discussion (I would focus mainly on the characters themselves) please let me know 🙂

Arrow

CURRENTLY READING

Across the Universe by Beth Revis. You’re probably getting tired of me saying how obsessed I am with the movie Passengers lol. But when I asked for recommendations for science fiction books kind of like it, this one seemed the closest to the plot of the movie. And so far it is! I’m currently about 200 pages in, but I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. Im having a bit of a hard time connecting with the characters and the plot. It’s ok but it’s not blowing me away just yet. I may be subconsciously comparing it to the movie – not doing it on purpose, I swear! I find that it’s a mix between Passengers and The Giver. With the leaders and their need to CONTROL, and the need to have little to no differences in society to prevent conflict. I will hopefully finish this one soon.

I also started the audiobook for The Hate You Give and I’m loving it! The audiobook narrator is especially good!! I’m not that far into it but it’s already so enthralling and emotional. I can’t wait to finish it! I have a feeling this one will end up on my modern classics list!

Arrow

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS

—–> What I lacked in reading and book reviews, I made up with so much else! First of all – I won a giveaway! I’ve only ever won one giveaway before through Goodreads. I’ve entered SO many and when I got the message my jaw dropped! If you remember, a few months ago I did a guest post over on the lovely blog Cornerfolds – they were doing a giveaway for 2 of their favourite books of 2016 – so I chose And I Darken and Wintersong. I had been considering both but haven’t picked up either yet. Good thing I didn’t! Thanks so much to Tracy for the great books! Can’t wait to read them!

—–> I also participated in a great monthly event called Calendar Girls. On the first monday of each month, a new topic will be explored and you will choose a book that fits that topic. This month’s event was “BEST SEQUEL”. And I chose……. Gemina by Aime Kaufman and Jay Kristoff! Next months topic is best Shakespeare play. If you’re interested in participating click HERE

—–> This week I had a few tag and discussion posts. First of all, since it’s the beginning of the month, I listed my MAY TBR – it’s going to be a great month!! And if you’re interested in finding out about the person behind this blog, I did aGET TO KNOW ME TAG! It was much easier to tell you who I am when I don’t have to tell you face to face. I love reading personal things about other bloggers. It helps me understand who they are as a person and makes their blog content more relatable. Other discussion posts include my Top 5 Tuesday, where I listed the Top 5 popular books I DON’T plan on reading, and then a short post about Bookmarks!

Arrow

All in all it was a great week! It was a very busy one though that may have me considering changing things. My life is SOOO busy! I have two kids, a dog, a house to handle, and my husband and I run two businesses. We don’t have employees just yet so we’re working 14-18 hour days trying to keep up with it all right now. It doesn’t leave much time to read or blog but I use every minute to its fullest. Unfortunately I’ve been staying up too long trying to give myself some personal time to wind down and I feel a burnout coming soon. Problem is that I’m stubborn and don’t give up! If I make any changes I’ll make an announcement. Until then I’ll keep pushing through!

Hope you all had a fantastic week! What did you read this week?

Until next time, happy reading!

 

