A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN

Written by Sarah J Maas

Published by Bloomsbury, May 2, 2017

My star rating: 5 stars!

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places. In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all. (Goodreads)

Arrow

Don’t panic! There are no spoilers here! I’m a firm believer in practicing safe spoiler free reviews! But, I have to say, that writing a review for this without wanting to gush about everything I just read, is HARD!!! Pretty much everything I say will be vague and you’ll already know what I’m talking about – but I figured I would put my thoughts out anyway.

Before I even picked up book 3 I did a reread of books 1 and 2. I’m so very glad that I did because events and characters that were in both came back and played a big role in wrapping up the tale of Feyre Cursebreaker. Because I had picked apart every detail in the first two books, I was able to figure out a few key elements and reveals that happened in ACOWAR.

This series was nothing short of perfection when it comes to character development. Yes, there is a lot of action happening in book 3, but it’s the characters that shine through like no other. With each book in the series we started off assuming we knew them yet with every twist and turn their personalities, emotions, and actions evolved into something beautiful. People once broken were now strong. Once lost and now had purpose. Feyre and her sisters especially were an absolute joy to follow from beginning to end. They all endured so much and struggled so hard to find themselves. I knew I was going to love this book. The level of bad-assery Feyre displays in the very first chapters was top notch!!!

One of my favourite parts of this book was the Court details and politics. In the previous books we were told about the other courts but were never really given any details (aside from Summer, Spring, and Night). In this one we were introduced to ALL the courts, in some way or another, as they all came together to fight the King of Hybern. Not all courts were on the same side though. Some didn’t agree that the King was a threat, some selfishly didn’t want to fight, some couldn’t get over past issues, and some were willing to drop everything to fight for their lands and people. It was really interesting how SJM wrote the different high lords and how they all connected! And not all lines were crisp and clearly drawn. The war many years ago made people apprehensive and indecisive if they were willing to put their people in harms way again. There was so much speculation as to who would be there when needed and who was on the right side.

Another high point of this book was that the histories of the Fae people was more clearly described. Details were given as to who was working with who during the first war, what their motives were, where other “historical figures” went and why – I just felt like I had a clearer pictures as to why these courts felt the way they did and what could have created rifts or stronger bonds in Prythian.

This book had a constant feel of dread and terror. The atmosphere was just so haunting! You really got the feel for their emotions as they raced to save their people, putting themselves in harms way and stopping at nothing. Some of the creatures and people in this book were just downright terrifying!

I will admit though, that compared to the first two books, this one had some pacing issues. Half way through I felt like things were getting a little repetitive and not moving forward as quickly as they should. But then again I was so desperate to know how this was going to end that it only felt like it was taking too long to get answers! Let’s be honest – we’ve all been waiting so long to get this book in our hands! I don’t think any of us could read fast enough!

The ending was satisfactory enough. I know that there are more books coming out that are related to this series so I hope that we will get all the details of their future in those books!! I can’t wait to figure out who’s POV’s those books will be in!

I wish I could say more but I don’t want to risk spoiling even the smallest of details! I hope that everyone is enjoying ACOWAR and can’t wait to hear your thoughts! I was fully expecting a book hangover from this but I feel at peace lol!!!

Until next time, happy reading!

