THE RAVEN KING (The Raven Cycle #4)

Written by Maggie Stiefvater

Published by Scholastic Press, April 26 2016

My star rating: 3 stars

THE SYNOPSIS:

The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from the irrepressible, #1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater. All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore. (Goodreads)

Arrow

“I didn’t think it was going to end like this” says Henry…… I couldn’t agree more.

This book feels impossible for me to review properly. My thoughts and emotions bounced around like a yo-yo. One chapter I was so in love with these characters. I felt like they were my personal friends and I was experiencing this all along with them. But then the very next chapter I felt like I was detached from the story. All I know is that when I started this series Ronan was my least favourite character. Now, Ronan is hands down my favourite character! His snarky attitude, foul language, and brutal honesty won his way into my heart. The relationships that were formed in this book (friendships, romances, parental), were really great. I loved all the connections that came together and people finally accepting who they were.

There were a few aspects that were added into this book that I felt were there just for dramatic effect and didn’t serve a purpose. Pipers dad (dad’s??) Laumonier… I just felt that it was unnecessary. Yes a mention of her father was necessary. And mentioning that he was also a collector was necessary. But to have one man be three people at once – why? I felt that things like this were written to add more magical effect but it didn’t have an impact or actual purpose! And the character Jimi, am I the only one who had to Google who this character was? I couldn’t remember for the life of me where she came from! I took a lot of points off this series because I really felt that there was so much time spent on explaining magic and events that had no real purpose in the story. I spent a lot of time confused through this series, waiting for things to be explained completely, and then the explanations never came. There were so many missed opportunities.

I don’t know exactly what I expected going into this series finale – I just know that I expected something bigger. All these books, all the build up, all the strange and magical elements, and then it ended. Just like that. This insane search for Glendower and then it’s over. Trying to figure out Cabeswater and then it’s done. I can appreciate how this book ended but I expected something grand and enormous. It all felt just underwhelming to me. Maybe i’m missing the point because I’ve read so many reviews where people were blown away by the ending. I wish I felt that way but I don’t.

If I was to rate this series on character development I would give it a solid 5 stars. I loved every single character! I felt like they were my own close personal friends who I knew all their inner thoughts and secrets. But if I was to rate it on it’s cohesive streamlined and well developed plot – it would be only 3 stars. I wish I had more explanation!!

Have you read this series? What did you think of it? Am I missing the big picture here?? LOL

Until next time, happy reading!

 

