So last week was a great reading week. I managed to finish 4 books and I felt a momentum and desire to read like no other! I was hoping to continue that momentum – but then life happened. Work got busy and my cousin who had been fighting cancer for 2 years (even though he was diagnosed and only given 6 months) finally ended his fight. Even though his loss is something we all expected it didn’t stop our grief. My head was sad and foggy so I couldn’t focus on a book much. I did manage to finish one book though

BOOKS I FINISHED THIS WEEK:

An ember in the ashes

AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir – I finished this one very late last night and will have the review up on Monday! I have so many thoughts about it which I did’t expect. I knew that this one was getting a lot of hype and buzz but I stayed away from the reviews and talk because I didn’t want to get spoiled. I’m glad that I did because I went into it with no expectations and I was pleasantly surprised!

CURRENTLY READING:

This picture is misleading – i’m not actually reading all three books. I’m about 60% through The Raven King and it’s too early for me yet to form an opinion on it. This is the concluding book to a 4 book series and it’s a lot to take in!

Since I just finished an Ember in the Ashes last night I haven’t figured out if I’m going to jump right in to book two or if I’m going to start my ACOTAR reread. I have a special edition of ACOWAR preordered and it will take about 4 days to get here so I have lots of time to read the first two. Sabah Tahir’s books read quickly so I hope that life calms down enough that I can read book 2 before my ACOTAR reread!

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS:

I finally got around to reading Thirteen Reasons Why and even watched the first two episodes of the show. I really like the show! It allows for so much more exploration of the situations and relationships in Hannah’s past and the people cast are perfect! I have a bunch of audiobooks that will be available soon so I’m not sure how much TV I’ll be watching but I’ll get to the show again soon!

I also announced the list of my upcoming Top 5 Tuesday topics so that you can see what topics i’ll be covering and ave time to prepare if you’re interested in participating. Click on the link so see the topics and there is also a graphic there for you to use as well. I love seeing a variety of answers and I hope that you can find a topic that interests you!

I also did a tag of sorts where I talked about books I assumed I would hate but ended up loving – which was such a fun post to do! There are a ton of books I assume that I won’t like. Either from reading the synopsis or looking at the cover. There are also some tropes that are just so overdone I don’t want to go near them but, if done well, they’re still amazing!

Here’s hoping the next few weeks are a little easier!

Until next time, happy reading!

