This post is a few weeks in the making. Last month I started slowly compiling the problems that Bookworms face – the problems that no one else will understand! But if you’re like me and books consume your world, then you will have faced these problems at least once in your bookish life! I tried to narrow this down to 5 but there are just too many problems, so this will be done in a two part series.

Top 5Β Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in doing my topic on your blog feel free! Also you can use this graphic, just link my siteΒ πŸ™‚

Top 5 Tuesday

WHEN SOMEONE ASKS YOU WHAT YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK IS

My son asks me that probably once a day. And when people find out that I love to read that’s usually their first question. But how do you answer that? Seriously? There’s no possible way that I could pick just out out of the hundreds (ok probably over a thousand) of books that I’ve read! I have a very long list of my all time favourites but there’s no way I could peg down one!

SOMEONE INTERRUPTING YOU OR TALKING TO YOU WHILE YOU’RE READING

I almost want to scream at them “Do you not see that I’m reading?” I try to be a little understanding about this one. I live in a house with my husband and two kids and I know that they need to talk to me or ask me things. I’m almost always reading if I have a spare few minutes so I guess it’s impossible not to interrupt if I’m always reading. But WHY is it always at a very important part of the book? WHY? It’s always when something big is happening in the plot, at the end of a chapter, at a really emotional spot, or the last chapter. They always manage to talk to me when I need to pay close attention to the book!

DECIDING WHAT TO READ NEXT!

This is hands down my biggest problem. I can manage the rest but this is the one that I experience most often. So many books and too little time! I’m a mood reader and sometimes my mood isn’t always clear. There’s also the intimidation of the size of a book or if it belongs to a series or not. Literally every time I finish a book I dread having to choose another. Maybe my TBR shelf needs to be smaller so I have less books to choose from. Scratch that. No. That’s a bad idea!

LOSING YOUR PLACE WHEN YOUR BOOKMARK FALLS OUT

This happens to me usually at least once a week. I’m a very busy person so I sometimes read as I’m cooking or walking around the house. A bookish multitasker if you will! So the chances of losing my spot is high. I will NOT dog ear the pages. If someone wants to then it’s their book and it’s up to them. I don’t think that folding the pages makes you a monster. But I personally refuse.

THINKING FICTIONAL CHARACTERS AND WORLDS ARE REAL

There are so many times that I will talk to my husband about a person, only to realize halfway through my conversation that the person doesn’t actually exist. Then I have to back track and tell him more about the book so that I don’t look like a delusional idiot. I know they aren’t real. But I connect with books, worlds, and characters so deeply sometimes that it feels real to me. Thankfully I have a few friends on other book sites who understand this problem and we talk about these characters as if they are mutual friends. It’s ok to live in a dream world just as long as you aren’t alone πŸ™‚

These are my first 5 bookworm problems! I’m sure you will all agree. I’ll have the next 5 problems posted next Tuesday πŸ™‚

Until next time, happy reading!

