I started off the year on a YA contemporary kick and I was really enjoying them. With the nice weather coming up, the desire to read a fluffy or emotional contemporary is growing stronger! So I thought I would go over some of the great contemporary reads I’ve read and list a few that I hope to read this spring/summer!

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in doing my topic on your blog feel free! Also you can use this graphic, just link or mention my site 🙂

Top 5 Tuesday

HIGHLY ILLOGICAL BEHAVIOUR – I absolutely fell in love with this one!! I have a friend with agoraphobia (who I rarely see, obviously) and I couldn’t wait to see if this was going to be a true to life representation of the disorder. I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite factual and he actually mentioned a few things that my friend mentioned. But I didn’t expect this book to be so funny! I found myself laughing out loud so many times and smiling until my cheeks hurt!

THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR – I read Everything Everything last year and was impressed with her writing. When I found out that her newest book dealt with immigration and deportation I knew I had to read it. I absolutely love how she writes relationships and human connection. Each of us has our own story and how we all come together is beautiful!

YOU’RE WELCOME UNIVERSE – I loved everything about this one! The diverse aspects, the perspective of a person who is hard of hearing, the art, everything! The main character was probably the most relatable YA contemporary characters I’ve ever read. She was so real and likeable.

SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE  – I honestly didn’t expect to like this one. But the more I read, the more I saw myself in the main character. I too was the shy reserved type and it wasn’t until I met certain people and was pushed out of my comfort zone that I really started to be able to do things for myself and let go a little. I didn’t like that her friend just left her no warning, but I understand that if  she didn’t do it that way then none of the events would have happened the way they did.

ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE – This is the book that got me out of a ridiculous reading slump last summer. If I was to sum this book up in one word it would be ADORABLE! I loved both Ari and Dante and, most of all, their parents with their love and support. This was such a heartwarming diverse story!

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Next, I thought I would mention a few books in this genre that I’m planning to read this spring and summer.

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI – I need this book!!! I mean I NEED it! The Indian culture is so beautiful. I am so fascinated by their customs, beliefs, clothing, food, etc. I know quite a few people that have moved to Canada from India over the years and I probably annoy them with my questions. Arranged marriages are also something that fascinate me. I find it strange that two people can be put together by their families and somehow it works. Not always, but when it works it really works. I need this book!!!!

THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING – I’m still not exactly sure about this one. The cover is a little too happy and young for me so I’m not sure if I’ll like it that much, but others insist that it’s good. I got the hardcover on sale last summer so I picked it up anyway. Sounds like it will be the perfect read when I’m laying around by the pool!

THE HATE YOU GIVE – I don’t think I really ned to explain why I want to read this one. The messages in this book are so important to our current social situation and I’m really interested to see where the author took this story. I’ve been avoiding spoilers like the plague and want to go into this one blindly.

THE SERPENT KING – I got this in an Owlcrate box sometime last year, but I was in a massive fantasy kick and couldn’t get into it. I’ve read so many rave reviews about this one and been threatened that I haven’t read it yet. Seriously lol. I will read it soon!

THE UNLIKELIES – This is an ARC that I received in March and it sounds really cute. It’s been described as part Breakfast Club (which is my favourite 80’s movie ever!) so that’s what hooked me. A young girl is preparing for a boring summer when she rescues a baby and the video that was taken during the rescue goes viral. She’s then introduced to a group of other ‘hometown heroes’ and the group of 5 unlikely friends set out to right wrongs. But when they try to help a heroine using friend, they get in over their heads. Hmmm? Call me curious! This one comes out June 6th.

So there are my top 5 contemporaries, and top 5 I plan to read this spring/summer. What are your favourite YA contemporaries?

Until next time, happy reading!

