I am in serious need of some science fiction recommendations!

Earlier this week I watched the movie Passengers with Jennifer Lawrence and Chris Pratt. My husband rented the movie and the only real reason I was interested was because Jennifer Lawrence was in it. But my expectations were low. Turned out I loved the movie and it sparked an absolute obsession! I liked it so much that my husband and kids bought it for me and I’ve watched it probably 10 or more times this week.

Passengers movie

If you don’t know what the movie is about, let me tell you! A space ship carrying 5000 passengers and 200+ crew members is making the 120 year journey to another planet. Earth is a mess, and when a corporation found that there was a planet just like earth, they capitalized on it and are immigrating for a fresh start. But 30 years into the voyage, the ship encountered a meteor shower that damaged the ship and woke one of the passengers out of hibernation early. He spent over a year alone while everyone else slept. Desperate, lonely, and on the verge of killing himself, he woke another passenger so he wouldn’t have to be alone anymore. I won’t spoil the movie if you plan to watch it, but the rest of the movie follows their day to day life alone on the ship, the consequences of their actions, and a fight to save their lives and the lives of the rest of the passengers.

I just can’t get this movie out of my head!! Everything about it grabbed me by my feels. I loved the human need to not be alone, the internal fight with making decisions that impact others desires, the willingness to sacrifice to save lives of others and so much more. I also loved the aspect of the world falling apart so a major corporation (out for a GIANT cash grab) decides to find a new planet to essentially destroy. It was all too real.

SO, are there any science fiction fans out there that can recommend something? If you’ve seen this movie is there a book out there like this? I NEED IT! lol

I’m still relatively new to this genre, and only really got into it last year. Here is a list of my top 5 science fiction if you want to see the books I’ve already read. I only have one other science fiction book on my shelves that I haven’t read which is Good Morning Midnight (Here’s the Goodreads synopsis).  I’m not really into the whole ‘aliens fighting aliens’ thing. But since I’m so new to the genre I don’t really know what I like exactly. I guess I’m open to anything. But I’m crossing my fingers to the breaking point that someone reading this will have seen that movie and will know a book that’s just like it!

Please lol

Until next time, happy reading!

