When I was younger I used to finish almost book I read in one day. I would get so into the plot and the world that I would have to know how the story ended. Now that I have a husband, two kids, a dog, a blog and two businesses – there just isn’t enough time in a day to marathon read. But every once in a while there is a perfect storm. Where everything aligns and I magically have the uninterrupted time to finish the book. This usually means that I started it first thing in the morning, picked it up randomly throughout the day, and then ended up staying up until 3am finishing it. I always pay for it the next day but the satisfaction of reading a book in one day more than makes up for the exhaustion! And sometimes, if the book is ‘just that good’ I will  unfortunately ignore my other responsibilities and read it anyway (ahem – a court of mist and fury)…….. sorry, not sorry kids and husband!!! I hope they fully expect this to happen when A Court of Wings and Ruin is released lol

Top 5 Tuesday

Reading a book in less than 24 hours is sometimes easy when the book is really short – I will mention a few of those down below. But I’m going to keep the books that are longer in length on this top 5 list. So here they are:

the-hunger-games-series

I had to have surgery a few years ago that required me to stay in bed for a week. I wasn’t able to move my arms quickly or lift anything over a few pounds – perfect timing for a trilogy! I mean I had 7 whole days to read these. But I ran into a problem… I loved them so much I finished all three in two days! I had nothing left to read and no way to get to the library so I switched to video games lol. These books pushed me to read harder than any other series. Suzanne Collins we need more from you!

Yes these are two separate books – I just figured that since they’re by the same author I would add them in at the same time. These surprised me though. I’m normally not the type of person to get right into a contemporary read but these were so good (and kind of short) that I pushed through. Both created a need in me to know what happened to these characters!

The wrath and the dawn

This one also surprised me! Probably more than the contemporary reads did. I got this for Christmas and when I read the synopsis I kind of assumed that I would hate it. It sounded like it was going to be full of unrealistic insta-love and focus completely on this ridiculous romance. But the characters personalities were so strong, the setting was well developed, and the back story behind the Prince’s actions to kill his wives every day was what drove me. I guess there was a little bit of insta-love, but not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

Landline

Rainbow Rowell is just amazing, and I was so excited to see what she could do with an adult novel. This one was not only fantastic but it came at a perfect time. No relationship is perfect. There are a lot of ups and downs. And sometimes you find yourself not appreciating your partner as much as you normally should – for whatever reason. When I read this one, I was in one of those funks. It was nothing important (obviously because I can’t even remember what our disagreement was about) but this book helped me change a few things. Most importantly it changed my perspective. Me and my husband got together a few months after I turned 16. So we were very young and we both had a lot of growing to do. Luckily for us, in the 19 years of our relationship (don’t do the math!) we have found a way to grow together. This book helped me see our situation in a different light and made things better. As soon as I started to gain things from this book I knew I had to finish it immediately. So I did. And then I hugged my husband 🙂

A monster calls

This book was short but that’s not the reason I finished it so quickly. I started this one and I felt that it was a little juvenile and couldn’t really figure out where it was going. When the story unfolded it hit emotions that I wasn’t really ready to deal with. When I read this, it was the one year anniversary of losing my grandpa. It was somewhat close to this situation and I had been holding so much guilt about something in particular. This book had me bawling on the couch crying tears of sadness and pain – but it was the sudden relief that made me cry even harder. I’m not quite prepared to type my whole story. Right now I’m starting to shake and have tears. I have a post prepared for another time where I will get my story out but it will probably take a while for me to type it little by little. This book lifted an 8000 pound weight from my shoulders and I will forever be grateful for this book.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

OTHER BOOKS I FINISHED IN 24 HOURS:

  • Attachments – Rainbow Rowell
  • I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
  • The Saga graphic novel series – Brian K Vaughn
  • Wires and Nerve – Marissa Meyer
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – JK Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – JK Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, JK Rowling
  • Sold – Patricia McCormick
  • Nimona – Noelle Stevenson

Have you read any books in less than 24 hours? What were your top reads?

Until next time, happy reading!

