After having little to no reading time last week I was SO glad to finally feel like I was getting back to the swing of things. But spring is officially here and the temperatures are rising so I’m not sure how much reading I’ll be doing soon. There is so much yard work that needs to be done after the snow melts and temperatures thaw. So I’m taking all the relaxing reading time when I can get it!!

BOOKS I FINISHED THIS WEEK:

I got the chance to finish two books this week. First was Crooked Kingdom (find the full review HERE). This is a book that I had sitting on my shelf since the day it was released but it never seemed to be the right time to read it. There are so many new series/trilogies that I want to start but I needed to finish some series first (Top 5 series I need to finish). Also, I’ve heard from so many people that this one ended on a very bittersweet note and I was petrified that I would get spoiled at some point. This series was just SO good! The second book I finished this week was CITY OF SAINTS AND THIEVES. Once I heard that this mystery book was being compared to Gone Girl I was nervous I wouldn’t like it, but thankfully it was a really interesting fast paced read! I’m still quite shocked that I liked a mystery novel!

CURRENTLY READING:

The end of the day

The End of the Day by Claire North. This is an ARC that will be published on April 4th, 2017. I’ve wanted to read Claire North for the longest time. She has some of the most unique ideas and her books are always described as ‘brilliant’ and ‘masterpieces’. I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. Her writing style is incredibly difficult to get used to though. I spent about 75 pages trying to figure out what entire chapters had to do with the story and what the story was about in general. When it finally clicked though – oh god my heart. My heart. This book may either throw me into a panic attack, a heart attack, or a crying fit that will drown me in a pool of my own tears. I’m just over 120 pages in and ! can’t wait to finish it!! Before I got this book though I started Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan (which was the original trilogy before SINS OF EMPIRE), but I had to put it down so I could finish this one before it’s release date.

OTHER BOOKISH NEWS:

Hunted giveaway

If you haven’t seen it already, I’m doing a giveaway! That’s right, on April 5th I will announce the winner of Meagan Spooner’s Hunted! All you have to do is follow my blog and you will automatically be entered. Also follow me on Twitter (@BionicBookWorm) for an added entry. I can’t wait to send this book out to the winner!!

End of day:Unlikelies

Earlier this week I got some mail from the Hachette Book Group Canada! The End of the Day (currently reading) by Clair North – to be published April 4, 2017 – and The Unlikelies by Carrie Firestone – to be published June 6, 2017. I will have a synopsis and review of The End of the Day up very soon. But here’s some info on The Unlikelies:

Five teens embark on a summer of vigilante good samaritanism in a novel that’s part The Breakfast Club, part The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and utterly captivating. Rising high school senior Sadie is bracing herself for a long, lonely, and boring summer. But things take an unexpected turn when she steps in to help rescue a baby in distress and a video of her good deed goes viral. Suddenly internet-famous, Sadie’s summer changes for the better when she’s introduced to other “hometown heroes.” These five very different teens form an unlikely alliance to secretly right local wrongs, but when they try to help a heroin-using friend, they get in over their heads and discover that there might be truth in the saying “no good deed goes unpunished.” Can Sadie and her new friends make it through the summer with their friendships–and anonymity–intact? (Goodreads)

I’m not afraid to say that I’m not normally the biggest fan of contemporaries. I just feel like I have a hard time relating sometimes. But when you come at me telling me the this is a novel that’s part Breakfast Club…….. yes, please! Breakfast Club is one of my favourite movies of all time so that’s a lot to live up to. We will see how it is soon enough!!

There it is, my busy but fantastic reading week! I hope you had a great week as well!

Until next time, happy reading!

