I saw this tag over on the wonderful blog My Paper Infinity and it looked like so much fun! It’s March break here and the kids are home which means no reading time for me. So since I won’t be able to finish any books and post a review – now seemed like the best time for this tag 🙂

Here are the rules:

1: Randomly choose three books you’ve read

2: For each group of three, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which one to reread (a lot like kiss, marry, kill)

3: Repeat for at least three rounds

There may be some minor spoilers throughout as I might mention what I would rewrite – you’ve been warned! 3, 2, 1, and GO!

ROUND ONE

BURN – This is killing me. I’m starting off this tag with an incredibly unpopular opinion. My choice to burn is Heartless. I’m so sorry!!! Don’t kill me! I wanted to love this so much because the Lunar Chronicles series was just so amazing. This one bored me to tears. I feel like I could have skipped through 80% of it and still not have missed anything. She would still be repeating that she loved baking and didn’t want to marry the king.

REWRITE – Bird Box. It was such a creepy unexpected read and the characters were so different. The story as a whole was intriguing but the only thing that I didn’t like about it was that you never really knew what the threat was. You know there’s something out there that you can’t see with your own eyes or else you’ll be dead, but you never know what it is. I wanted more info! And the ending was a little vague.

REREAD – You’re Welcome Universe. I can’t believe I’m saying this about a YA contemporary but it was just SO GOOD! The perspective of a deaf character and the inclusion of art through was just amazing. It’s not like the typical YA contemporary. The character was so real and made mistakes and I DO plan to reread this one at some point!

ROUND TWO

BURN  – Hands down, The Grownup. I have sworn off Gillian Flynn completely. I would find stereo instructions more interesting and better written. I know it’s harsh. I made this decision after reading more than one of her books. I just can’t do it anymore. Her characters are assholes and her “plot twists” are annoying and unnecessary. Sorry if you really like her books!

REWRITE – Six of Crows. This isn’t meant as a diss to the book in any way. I just found that the pace at the beginning of the book was a little slow. The last half of the book I couldn’t read fast enough! So I would just speed up the pace in the beginning and then this book would be golden!

REREAD – The Wrath and the Dawn. I fully expected this book to get on my nerves but I LOVED it and haven’t really stopped thinking about it since. Both books in the series were amazing, in depth and unexpected. I picked this book up as a recommendation and didn’t know anything about it. But when I learned the plot I literally rolled my eyes. Girl marries prince so that she can kill him and avenge her friends death…. ya ok so she will take one look into his eyes, melt, then forget all about her friend and fall in love. That didn’t happen! I did find that there was a little bit of insta-love but not enough to make me gag. Both characters stayed true to themselves and the reasons for the princes actions was really interesting!

ROUND THREE

BURN – Station Eleven. I only choose that one because the ending wasn’t as satisfactory as I wanted it to be. Their journey was intriguing, and it was very thought provoking as far as human nature and our connections goes, but I wished there was more substance to the ending. I wouldn’t ever burn it but this group is a hard one!

REWRITE – Salt to the Sea. Once again, this was a hard one. There isn’t anything specific that I would rewrite with this one. I thought this book was great and Ruta Sepetys is one of my favourite authors!

REREAD – The Night Circus. Just. So. Beautiful. No other words necessary.

ROUND FOUR

BURN – I mean really. Look at the options. The Cursed Child.

REWRITE – This group isn’t fair. Putting two Queen Maas books against each other! For a rewrite I would have to choose Emprire of Storms. But the only thing that I would rewrite would be the last few chapters…. NOT FAIR!!!!

REREAD – A Court of Mist and Fury. Always. This book and its characters are just perfection!!!! I have wanted to reread this one since the moment I finished it last time but here’s the problem. Book hangover. It took me well over a month to be able to read a book and actually enjoy it. My head was in this book for so long it ruined everything afterwards. I plan on reading both books in the series before the release of the third book, which I’m sure will ruin books in general all over again.

ROUND FIVE

BURN – Fangirl. I know that this book is loved by many but I just couldn’t relate to the characters in any way shape or form. She just seemed so immature and naive and it annoyed me. Maybe that was the point? Don’t know and don’t care. This one just wasn’t for me.

REWRITE – Caraval. The only thing that I would specifically rewrite about this is the insta-love and her obsession with a man she’s only known for a few days. Many times she chose this man above her own sister and her sister was the entire reason she was with the man in the first place. I understand when you’re with a mysterious man your curiosities often get the best of you, but if I had a sister I doubt that a mysterious guy would be in my mind first and foremost above my sisters life. It was just a little weird. Not weird enough to take away my love for this book but still weird.

REREAD – Ready Player one. This book has been coming up in a lot of tags lately. Maybe it’s a sign that it’s time to reread it! It’s going to be released as a movie in 2018 so I will read it again before then! I love any chance to dive into 80’s pop culture and back into my childhood. Any book that mentions Galaga needs to be reread. Don’t know what Galaga is? Just google it. When I was a kid I had an Atari obsession and this game was #1 on my list!

So there you have it! The burn, rewrite, reread tag. This was so much fun to compare random books and choose where I would put them. Some were easy and some were difficult. If you’ve done this tag please send me a link! I’d love to see what books you choose and where you put them!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

 

 

