So I wasn’t going to do a TBR this month because my reading mood is just weird. As I explained in my February TBR, I am a mood reader, so I can set out books I’m interested in but if I’m not in the mood for them once I finish a book I won’t pick them up. But last month I managed to read 3 out of the 5 that I set aside which is pretty good for me. My TBR list won’t be long this month, but I hope it gives me proper motivation to get to them!

Strange dreamer twitter.jpg

First on my list for this month is an ARC I received for review from HBG Canada/Little Brown. This book is being published on March 28th and I’ve already started it and am LOVING it! I actually feel a little obsessed both with the story and the writing. Close to A Court Of  Mist And Fury obsessed, but not quite. I would insert the synopsis here, but if I’m being honest, it’s incredibly confusing. Let’s just try and explain this in a non confusing way: Lazlo, who’s nickname is Strange the Dreamer, is a lover of books, knowledge, stories and dreams. His childhood was spent in an orphanage where his only option was to dream of adventures. He was tasked to delivery something to a library but when he got there, he hid in the stacks and started reading books until he was found and offered an apprenticeship. He lost himself completely in his work as a junior librarian, but in his spare time he spent countless hours researching the lost city of Weep, which he had heard of in stories from a Monk at the orphanage. The Monk told him that people that went searching for the unseen city never returned, and the city’s name removed itself from everyone’s mind many years ago. One day, a warrior named Godslayer appeared at the library which awakened Lazlo’s many questions. Was he really from the Unseen city? Who had he slain to get the name Godslayer? Is the lost city of Weep really real? And what’s the mysterious problem that the Godslayer needs help solving? That’s as good as my synopsis gets for now. My review will hopefully be coming soon!!

nevernight

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family. Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined. Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves. Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge? (Goodreads)

I got this one for Christmas and have been so excited ever since. I’ve read Illuminae and Gemina, which he cowrote with Amie Kaughman, which I loved, but I’m excited to see how his own books are. I’ve been wanting to get into this one for a while but I put it off for a bit. I had read the entire Throne of Glass series last year and I was a little bogged down with assassin stories. But now, I’m ready for it!

crooked-kingdon

It’s happening this month!! I am determined! I won’t be putting a synopsis here as this is a sequel to the first book in a series, but if you want to know what this duology is about, check out Six of Crows! I read Six of Crows last year and I have to admit that I had a hard time getting into it. I didn’t read the Grisha trilogy, so it took me some time to familiarize myself with this world and the magic they possessed. This was also one of those ‘slow burn’ stories where things build and build until the entire thing comes together, sucks you into a vortex, whips you around for a while scrambling your thoughts and emotions, then spits you back out again. Yup, that’s the best way to explain the last half of Six of Crows! I’ve heard that Crooked Kingdom messes with your emotions even more, but I’m prepared. I’ve also heard that there’s some epic plot twists, so I’m reading this one now before I somehow manage to get spoiled!

city-of-saints-and-thieves

Yes, you’re seeing this right – this was on my February TBR and I never got around to it. I really do hope that I pick this one up this month. I’ve heard that it’s a mystery/thriller so I really need to be in the right frame of mind to enjoy this one to its fullest extent. I really do hope to get to it this month, but no promises!

So there’s the books that I hope/plan to read this month. What’s on your TBR??

Until next time, happy reading!

