I thought I would put this up there for a little discussion today.

At the end of 2016 I spent a lot of time reflecting on my reading year. Last year I managed to finish 78 books which was hands down my personal best reading year in my adult life. I had originally set the goal of 50 books, but after reaching that goal about half way through the year I increased it. Now as great as my reading year was, I found some seriously problems.

The first half of 2016 was rushed. It had been a very long time since I had read 50 books in a year. I was in college, finding a job, having kids, owning a business – basically my life was  too crazy to read for quite a long time. But I was so desperate to reach this goal I started rushing to get there. I was pushing through books as quick as I could and choosing books that were shorter in length so I could finish it quicker. The second half of 2016 was something entirely different. Now that my goal was no longer as important I started taking my time and choosing books based on their content and my interest in them and not based on their size.

So when setting my reading goal for 2017, I decided to do things a little differently. I knew that I was probably going to read more than 50 books again but I set my goal at 50 anyways. The number of books this year will NOT be important. If I reach that goal then great. If I don’t then oh well. The amount of books isn’t my goal this year – the number of pages is!

I decided to focus on pages for a number of reasons – I would no longer choose books based on their size! I could pick the books I wanted to read based on their content and how interested I was in reading them without feeling the guilt that I was going to take too long to read it. I was also lowering my chances of a book slump! Too many times last year I found myself in a slump because the books I was picking up weren’t really what I wanted to read.

2017 was going to be the year of reading pages! I decided to set a personal goal of 33,333 pages this year – random I know. This is a personal goal as there’s no way to set a page goal on Goodreads. Once again, if I reach that goal then AMAZING! If I don’t reach it then oh well! I would love to reach that number but I won’t push myself to reach reading goals anymore. I almost forgot what it was like to read for fun. My main goal that I will be pushing myself to do it just – READ EVERY DAY! I would like to reach 50 pages a day but, let’s be honest, every day is different. Some days I will have more time to read than others. On one day I may only have time for one chapter, and on other days I might read almost a whole book. The point is that I’m reading every day and it will all even itself out in the end.

Even though you can’t set a pages reading goal on Goodreads, there is actually a way to see how many pages you’ve read. This is on the computer only and won’t work on the phone app. When you’re logged in to your account, click on the “my books” tab on the top of the page. Above your list of books on the top right, click on the green “Stats” link (it should be right above your Shelves column). And this is where you can click on pages! I Believe it shows you the pages you’ve read for every year you’ve had a book goal.

So far I am ahead of schedule to reach my 33,333 page goal, but I always read more in the winter and fall months. Spring and summer things get a little hectic so my reading slows down a bit.But I have to say that so far, now that reading goals aren’t that big of a deal, I’m a much happier reader and I’m enjoying my time reading a lot more!

Do you plan to read a certain amount of books or pages? Do you think it’s a better idea to focus on the amount of pages instead of books? Please leave your comments – I would love to hear what you think!

Until next time, happy reading!

