I made a personal goal this year to reread more books. My TBR shelf is never ending. Let’s be honest for a second, I am a book hoarder. Yes, I’ve admitted it, but no, I will not seek help! This is a problem that i’m comfortable dealing with for the rest of my life. The only thing that I buy for myself is books. I’m not into clothes, shoes, or going out to dinner, so books are the only thing that I will buy for myself.

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme where I explore different topics. If you are interested in doing my topic on your blog feel free! Also you can use this graphic, just link my site 🙂

Top 5 Tuesday

But the problem with having such a large amount of unread books to choose from is that the books that I’ve read in the past and LOVED sit there forgotten. I look at the spines of books multiple times a day and think about the different stories I’ve uncovered. I won’t let myself forget them completely. But what I need to do is take a step back from the shiny new books every once in a while and go back to visit an old friend. Your love of a book can be infinitely increased when you go into it knowing the story and you can spend more time on the beautiful details. Those small details are sometimes easily missed when your mission is to uncover the plot and see what happens next. So here are my top 5 books I want to reread this year!

ready-player-one

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. This is actually going to be a movie next year and I couldn’t be more excited! Getting to relive my 80’s childhood through this book was such a good time. And like I said above, it would be so great to go back into this and really pay attention to all of the details of the events and the world itself. I read through this so quickly and as much as I paid attention to the details, I know that I didn’t take the time to appreciate it all. So this will be happening this year!

acotar-series

Next on my list is A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury. These were my hands down favourite reads of last year! After I read this first one I wasn’t so convinced about this series. There were a few issues that really annoyed and confused me but in all I thought it was good. But once I read book 2 everything was put into perspective and the plot and characters were raised to a level that I honestly think will be hard to beat. But theres a problem with reading this series again – I know that it will throw me into a hangover that will take literally weeks to get out of. I’ve been thinking of this series since I read it last summer – non stop. Revisiting this series will either satisfy my obsession or increase it, but it’s a chance I’m willing to take!

sins-of-empire

I finished this one only a few weeks ago but I’m already looking forward to rereading it!! I loved the magical and political aspects of this fantasy novel just SO much!! I actually just ordered the original trilogy so hopefully I can read those first and then follow up with this reread now that I’ll know the back story!

The help.jpg

This was one of the first books I picked up when I started reading again after I had my kids. I fell instantly in love with it and all of the characters. This group of amazingly strong women who made decisions to stand up for themselves despite some horrific consequences. It’s such a beautiful and inspiring story that I really need to revisit!!

1984

I first read this in high school and have actually read it three times since. But it’s been quite a few years since I’ve read it again and I honestly forget quite a bit of it – as in all of it. And that’s just sad. It’s a small book so shouldn’t take too long to read so it will be happening some time this year!

So there’s a small list of books I plan to revisit this year. I’m not going to guarantee how many of these I will get to, but hopefully it will be all of them!

Until next time, happy reading!

 

