BLOOD FOR BLOOD

Written by Ryan Graudin

Published by Little Brown, November 1 2016

My star rating: 4 stars

Please keep in mind that this is the second book to a series. If you have not read the first book, Wolf by Wolf, then you may not want to read further! I will not be writing any spoilers for this book, but it will cover events that happened in the first one.

Death camp survivor Yael, who has the power to skinshift, is on the run: the world has just seen her shoot and kill Hitler. But the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against Hitler’s army, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.

But in the midst of the chaos, Yael’s past and future collide when she comes face to face with a ghost from her past, and a spark with a fellow rider begins to grow into something more. Dark secrets reveal dark truths and one question hangs over them all—how far can you go for the ones you love? (Goodreads)

When I first heard about this duology I was MORE than intrigued. I love historical fiction involving WWII, but for it to be an alternate reality where Hitler was victorious was an entirely different and unique perspective. The first book was good, but I wished that there was a little more politics, anger, and fighting. This book granted my wish and more.

I was happy to see that there was so much more depth given to all the characters. When they were first introduced in book one, some of their back stories, families and motivations were explained, but with this book I felt so much more attachment. You were given glimpses into their childhood, portraits of their families, and a back story with examples of events that lead each person to be what they were in the present. I especially like that, as each character moved through the story, you really got the chance to understand their emotions and what they were thinking. I felt so deeply connected to each character even though at times they were thinking totally different things. Yael was fearless as always, pulling her strength through her training and the fact that she never expected to live past the assassination attempt. But Luka, the one who originally annoyed me, surprised me completely.

As I said above, my favourite part of this book was that there was so much more political involvement. The first book was central to the axis tour bike race, but this one focuses on the aftermath of her shooting Hitler. Yale’s assignment was to kill Hitler and then the rest of the uprising would be taken care of by underground organization. Aspects of the uprising were seen from both sides and it was interesting to read how options were weighed and consequences played out.

I wish that I could say more about this but I would be afraid to spoil anything. This was a solidly written duology full of strength, fighting, power, and determination. Ryan Graudin is a fantastic writer and I can’t wait for more from her! Her other book, The Walled city (see my review HERE) was incredible and I may actually prefer it to this series! If you haven’t checked it out yet I urge you to do so!

Until next time, happy reading!

