I am SOOOO glad this week is over! We had a large amount of orders to ship out for work this week and to get it all done it required my husband and I to work 16 hour days. Then when we finally finished all the orders we packed up our two kids and drove 3 hours to Toronto for a show then drove back the same night. I am exhausted! We were so busy I think I’ve only touched a book once this week and only for a few pages. I’m looking forward to slowing things down a bit, getting back to reading, and getting back to blogging!

So, because I’ve been sitting here all week staring at all the books I wish I was reading but couldn’t, I figured that this tag was more than appropriate! Here it goes!

1 – A BOOK ON YOUR TBR PILE THAT YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED

the-wise-mans-fear

I started this one about a month ago, got 50% of the way through and decided I needed a break. This series is amazing, don’t get me wrong. But these books are big enough to be a weapon! With high fantasy books that are this length, it sometimes feels like theres never an end in sight. Now that i’m in the middle I’m finding that the plot has stalled. So to stop a possible book slump I took a bit of a break from it and will return hopefully soon!

2 – A BOOK YOU JUST HAVEN’T HAD THE TIME TO READ

hidden-bodies

This is the sequel to the incredible book You by Caroline Kepnes. The first hard cover edition of this one came out shortly after I read the You, but because it was so expensive and because my copy of You was in paperback, I held off and waited for the paperback of this to come out. I’ve had it for a while but haven’t picked it up yet because I wanted to take a break from reading series books.

3 – A BOOK YOU HAVEN’T READ BECAUSE IT’S A SEQUEL

Wayfarer.jpg

This was a book that I bought last month but haven’t picked up yet because I haven’t read the first one! When I bought the first book, Passenger, I heard it was going to be a duology, so I decided to wait until the release of book 2 so that I could marathon the series. There’s nothing more satisfying than getting to the end of book 1 and not having to wait for the sequel to be release to find out what happened!!

4 – A BOOK YOU HAVEN’T READ BECAUSE IT’S BRAND NEW

frost-blood

On February 13th I went to a book signing with Stephanie Garber (author of Caraval) and also there was Elly Blake, author of this beautiful book Frost Blood! I had it on my wish list but then as soon as I heard that I was going to get the chance to meet her I held on and bought it at the event. She seems like such a wonderful person! I can’t wait to get to this one!!

5 – A BOOK BY AN AUTHOR YOU READ PREVIOUSLY BUT DIDN’T REALLY LIKE

carry-on

Almost every Rainbow Rowell book I’ve read I’ve loved – unfortunately not Fangirl. I’m sure that if I read this book when I was a teenager I would have liked it, but I just couldn’t get into this one. Carry On is a fan fiction based novel that follows a story line within Fangirl. It’s supposed to be somewhat familiar to Harry Potter I guess. This one has better review than Fangirl itself, but I’m still nervous to read it.

6 – A BOOK ON YOUR TBR PILE THAT YOU’RE JUST NOT IN THE MOOD TO READ

crooked-kingdon

When I read the first book of this duology, Six of Crows, I realized that this one is definitely a mood reading book. The way its written and the subject matter I really have to be in the right mood to read this one. I attempted it once and I just wasn’t in the right head space for it. I didn’t want to risk not appreciating it as much as I should have so I put it down until it was the right time. Same goes for this one!

7 – A BOOK ON YOUR TBR PILE THAT YOU HAVEN’T READ BECAUSE IT’S ENORMOUS

the-black-prism

This book isn’t really something that I would consider ‘enormous’, but it is over 600 pages so it’s not really a light read either. But there are currently 4 books to this series and all of them are over 600 pages! So that’s well over 2000 pages in 4 books….. I know that I don’t have to read all 4 in a row, but still it’s more than a little intimidating!

8 – A BOOK ON YOUR TBR THAT YOU BOUGHT BECAUSE OF THE COVER

vengeance-road

This is the book on my TBR that I’m most embarrassed about. I bought this one back in 2015 because it was BEAUTIFUL and because it was a Western, which is a subject matter/genre I’ve never read before. I was so excited to read it yet, here we are now in 2017, and it’s still a TBR! It’s not like it’s long or anything, I don’t know why I haven’t read this one yet!!!1

9 – THE BOOK ON YOUR TBR THAT YOU FIND MOST INTIMIDATING

strange-the-dreamer

I got this ARC from the publisher in January. It was one of my most anticipated books of this year and I literally cried when it came  in the mail. Sad, I know. But when I got it and read the synopsis fear set it. It sounds SO confusing. The premise is unique and interesting, and Laini Taylor has gotten so much praise for her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy (which I still haven’t read – don’t judge me). But as people started picking up the ARC’s, they started to admit that they didn’t like it, found it incredibly confusing, and actually decided to not finish it!! I got it sent to me from the publisher so I need to read and review it before it’s release at the end of March, but I’m so afraid that I’m not going to like it! I hate writing a negative review, but I would feel especially awful if it was a negative review of a book sent to me from the publisher. Ugh, I just don’t know!

If you’ve done this tag please let me know! I would LOVE to read your responses!! I also welcome any thoughts or comments! Happy reading weekend!

 

